The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HTML Formatting issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Giovanni Alabiso, Mar 6, 2016.

  1. Giovanni Alabiso

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Salem, Massachsetts
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I inherited a website via a business and it is in CPanel two years ago. I have taught myself how to use it but sometimes is a struggle. I have Mac Book Pro and I recently upgraded to OS X Yosemite 10.10.5. Ever since that time, formatting in my HTML editor has been off when I view. However, the web page is fine. I can make changes to the web page but I have to think like Picasso and know that change to the second line on the left side effects the first line on the right side. It's like talking to someone in Spanish, but I first have to think of what I want to say in English, translate it to Italian and then Spanish. I have investigated but have not found the answer. I spoke to my host but I cannot figure out what to do. Help me CPanel Forum, you're my only hope.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you verify if you are referring to the HTML editor offered in the "File Manager" option in cPanel? Is the account assigned the "Paper Lantern" theme? Could you post a screenshot that shows an example of what you are referring to?

    Thank you.
     
  3. Giovanni Alabiso

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Salem, Massachsetts
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Yes. It's the HTML editor offered in the File Manager. I don't know what Paper Lantern is. Here is screen shot.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you able to provide an example or image of the issue you are facing in the HTML editor itself? Could you let us know which version of cPanel is installed on this server (You can scroll down to the bottom of your cPanel interface to see the version number).

    Thank you.
     
  5. Giovanni Alabiso

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Salem, Massachsetts
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I finally noticed that it was on paper lantern and I changed it to X or X3. Now it looks like it used to. in the file manager. But the HTML editor looks off. Here are some images. The 10.58.50 screen shot is the web sit and the other image is the editor. It's really hard to work this way. The website does need an overhaul. Thank You

    I am using CPanel version 54.0 (build 18)
     

    Attached Files:

    #5 Giovanni Alabiso, Mar 8, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2016
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,481
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What is the actual problem you're having here with the editor?
     
  7. Giovanni Alabiso

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Salem, Massachsetts
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I posted screen shots in this thread. The HTML editor is not depicting the page correctly nor is the preview. For example, the top part of it where it reads the name of the company is show in the editor and the preview as going across the top of the page and to the far right and breaking into a second sentence, when the actual web page doesn't do that. It is almost like a display issue like HTML is an 11x14 inch picture but the website is an 8x10 picture.
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,481
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Looks like something in your code isn't playing well with the HTML editor.
     
  9. Giovanni Alabiso

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Salem, Massachsetts
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    what does that mean? How do I fix it?
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,481
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Have you spoken with the person who created the site for you? I suspect some design issues is the reason its not displaying right in the editor.
     
  11. Giovanni Alabiso

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Salem, Massachsetts
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    No. It's been fine for two years. It just started happened after I had to do an update on my mac book pro. It is a display/view issue. Perhaps in the code. I suspect if I logged in from a different OS it might be fine. I've looked at all the settings, I'm not sure why it is doing it.
     
  12. ElviCities

    ElviCities Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Perhaps see if other apple users are experiencing the same issue, on an apple forum for instance? Not trying to be rude, but I don't think the fine folks at Cpanel are responsible for issues caused by end-user OS modifications/updates. It would be interesting to see if you had the same issues, as described above, on a different (Linux or windows) OS. If not, then the issues are clearly with the OS and not Cpanel.
    To pinpoint the problem, I would try and find out what exactly changed in the update of your apple OS. With the browser/etc. That then may lead you to a solution.
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I'm unable to reproduce the issue so I suspect it's related to your specific HTML code. Have you considered using a third-party HTML editor and uploading the content via FTP? cPanel version 56 will ship a new very basic, single-page, website builder that you may want to try.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page