Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HTTP 500 Error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ian Daniels, Nov 22, 2016.

  1. Ian Daniels

    Ian Daniels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Manchester
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I have restored a account from a backup, and before the site goes live I have tried to test my site by amending the local host file to recognise the fqdn

    I tried to navigate to the test site and I am getting error

    HTTP Error 500

    I have checked the logs and nothing is appearing

    Can someone help?
     
  2. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi,
    Have you checked Apache error logs ? Also, Pleases make sure your website is pointing to server IP.
     
  3. Ian Daniels

    Ian Daniels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Manchester
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Shouldn't the IP's be changed to where they are pointing after a full restore?

    Also where are the apache logs located

    I get this error

    *******.com is currently unable to handle this request.

    HTTP ERROR 500
     
    #3 Ian Daniels, Nov 22, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 22, 2016
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,747
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Do you have Apache mod_userdir Tweak enabled for the account?

    WebHost Manager »Security Center »Apache mod_userdir Tweak
     
  5. Ian Daniels

    Ian Daniels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Manchester
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That log has been enabled

    Tell a lie I can't seem to get it on
     
  6. Ian Daniels

    Ian Daniels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Manchester
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Detected mod_ruid2 in use.
    Using both mod_userdir and mod_ruid2 is not a supported configuration.
    Changes were not saved.
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,747
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Probably the reason for the issue then. If you've got an IP you can dedicate to that account, you could open it on that IP instead once assigned to the account.
     
  8. Ian Daniels

    Ian Daniels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Manchester
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have tried to access it via a dedicated IP too with the FQDN and it is still giving me the same error

    I have taken the https and changed for http and I am getting

    If you are the owner of this website, please contact your hosting provider: webmaster@

    It is possible you have reached this page because:

    Would it be the SSL cert that is installed that could be causing this?
     
    #8 Ian Daniels, Nov 22, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 22, 2016
  9. Ian Daniels

    Ian Daniels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Manchester
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As there is a SSL cert that was recovered attached to the site
     
    #9 Ian Daniels, Nov 22, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2016
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,747
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The cPanel account is set to use a dedicated IP address or no? It must be to use the IP to access it. The domain wouldn't work of course until you updated the DNS for the domain to point to the server.
     
  11. Ian Daniels

    Ian Daniels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Manchester
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I had the this problem where I had to amend my local host file with the dedicated IP to access a test webpage, I have tried both IP and FQDN (via the host file) and I am getting the error 500

    But this is a secure site so the prefix is https

    Once I change this it gives me the default apache fault page
     
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,747
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Well, your addition to the hosts file is used when using Apache mod_userdir Tweak, correct? But you can't use the mod_userdir tweak:
    I think you'd want to remove those edits to the hosts file on your computer.

    You should be able to bring up the site with or without SSL. If you're forcing SSL via htaccess, remove/remark that out there as well for now until you have the site operating as expected.
     
  13. Ian Daniels

    Ian Daniels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Manchester
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi I have another question

    I have two account on one machine

    But they are looking at the same public IP

    support.******.com
    *******.com

    in the external DNS I have three entries

    *.********.com (wildcard)
    *********.com
    suport.********.com

    If I change these to look at the same IP would CPanel be able to successfully direct the traffic to its correct area?
     
  14. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,747
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Assuming this thread's problem is sorted, please start a new thread with more details. ;)
     
  15. Ian Daniels

    Ian Daniels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Manchester
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It isn't as of yet, the

    *********.com

    Is working as it should but the

    support.********.com

    Is still showing the http 500 error

    how do I disable the htaccess?
     
  16. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,747
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Renaming it from .htaccess to .htaccess.txt will disable it from working.
     
  17. Ian Daniels

    Ian Daniels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Manchester
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Silly question where would this usually be located
     
  18. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,747
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    No worries, it's in your public_html and its a hidden dot file.

    Open cPanel File Manager, Top right corner click Settings, select "Show Hidden Files", save.
     
  19. Ian Daniels

    Ian Daniels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Manchester
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Disabling that didn't work
     
  20. Ian Daniels

    Ian Daniels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Manchester
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am doing a live DNS flip tonight to the test webpage to see if this error persists
     
Loading...

Share This Page