The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

http/apache hang

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by wp11b, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. wp11b

    wp11b Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    any could help me about this problem? how to trace ?

    error log apache :

    [Tue Mar 22 02:15:34 2011] [notice] Graceful restart requested, doing restart
    [Tue Mar 22 02:16:34 2011] [alert] refusing to send signal 10 to pid 6186 outside process group
    [Tue Mar 22 02:16:36 2011] [notice] mod_bw : Memory Allocated 0 bytes (each conf takes 28 bytes)
    [Tue Mar 22 02:16:36 2011] [notice] mod_bw : Version 0.8 - Initialized [0 Confs]
    [Tue Mar 22 02:16:36 2011] [notice] Apache/2.2.12 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.12 OpenSSL/0.9.8e-fips-rhel5 mod_mono/2.4 mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 configured -- resuming normal operations
    [Tue Mar 22 02:16:36 2011] [warn] long lost child came home! (pid 9427)
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is Apache running now on the machine? Do you show this type of error repeatedly or it's a one off occurrence in the logs?

    Also, what PHP handler are you using? You can find the handler in WHM > Apache Configuration > PHP and SuExec Configuration area.
     
  3. wp11b

    wp11b Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    when this occurs apache was stoping. thats log repeatly, after i restarted apache service that logs not showing again.

    Default PHP Version (.php files) 5
    PHP 5 Handler suphp
    PHP 4 Handler none

    Apache suEXEC on
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Interestingly enough, the message "refusing to send signal 10 to pid" is so rare that only one ticket in our system and only this thread and a Russian forum thread mention it. As such, I don't even entirely know the cause for it beyond the fact that the processes were hanging and didn't want to be gracefully restarted. I would have more expected that kind of behavior from FCGI than suPHP, which was why I had asked about the PHP handler.

    Can you provide your current settings for the following? You can find these in WHM > Apache Configuration > Global Configuration area:

    StartServers
    MinSpareServers
    MaxSpareServers
    ServerLimit
    MaxClients
    MaxRequestsPerChild
    MaxRequestsPerChild
    KeepAlive
    KeepAliveTimeout
    MaxKeepAliveRequests
    TimeOut

    Next, please run the following to find if you are hitting MaxClients on the server:

    Code:
    grep -i maxclient /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log
     
  5. wp11b

    wp11b Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This the global setting :

    StartServers 5
    MinSpareServers 5
    MaxSpareServers 10
    ServerLimit 256
    MaxClients 150
    MaxRequestsPerChild 10000
    KeepAlive on
    KeepAliveTimeout 5
    MaxKeepAliveRequests 100
    TimeOut 300
     
  6. wp11b

    wp11b Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    grep -i maxclient /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log
    [Thu Feb 24 11:04:19 2011] [error] server reached MaxClients setting, consider raising the MaxClients setting
    [Mon Mar 14 21:43:59 2011] [error] server reached MaxClients setting, consider raising the MaxClients setting
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You do appear to periodically be reaching the MaxClients setting, so you might want to raise both MaxClients and ServerLimit to 512 instead of your current setting.
     
Loading...

Share This Page