Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED HTTP DCV: “domain.tld” is not a registered internet domain.

Discussion in 'Security' started by AgreedBog, Jan 7, 2019.

Tags:
  1. AgreedBog

    AgreedBog Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hey there,
    i setup cpanel a while ago and everything worked perfectly but now on the second renewal of all the ssl certificates with auto sll (cpanel powered) of all the domains & subdomains of all the users gives the following error:
    Code:
    HTTP DCV: “domain.tld” is not a registered internet domain.
    and if i check the auto ssl log it says the following:
    Code:
    Checking websites for “user” …
     1:04:38 PM Analyzing “domain.tld” …
     1:04:38 PM TLS Status: Ready for Renewal
     WARN Certificate expiry: 1/22/19, 12:00 AM UTC (14.5 days from now)
     1:04:38 PM Analyzing “domain.tld” …
     1:04:38 PM SUCCESS TLS Status: OK
     Certificate expiry: 1/23/19, 12:00 AM UTC (15.5 days from now)
     1:04:38 PM Analyzing “domain.tld” …
     1:04:38 PM SUCCESS TLS Status: OK
     Certificate expiry: 1/23/19, 12:00 AM UTC (15.5 days from now)
     1:04:38 PM Performing DCV (Domain Control Validation) …
     1:04:38 PM ERROR “domain.tld” is not a registered internet domain.
     ERROR “domain.tld” is not a registered internet domain.
     ERROR “domain.tld” is not a registered internet domain.
     ERROR “domain.tld” is not a registered internet domain.
     ERROR “domain.tld” is not a registered internet domain.
     ERROR “domain.tld” is not a registered internet domain.
     ERROR “domain.tld” is not a registered internet domain.
     ERROR “domain.tld” is not a registered internet domain.
     1:04:38 PM Analyzing “domain.tld”’s DCV results …
     1:04:38 PM ERROR Impediment: TOTAL_DCV_FAILURE: Every domain failed DCV.
     1:04:38 PM The system has completed the AutoSSL check for “user”.
    And it does this for every single domain & subdomain... i can ping, and reach the domain & server perfectly fine only this does not work. i also tried it with the let's encrypt autossl addon but that does not work either

    How to fix or where to look for the problem?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,331
    Likes Received:
    2,160
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @AgreedBog,

    Can you open a support ticket so we can take a closer look at the affected system and live domain names? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. AgreedBog

    AgreedBog Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,331
    Likes Received:
    2,160
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    To update, it looks like the issue stemmed from a 1:1 NAT router configuration (or the provider's router/firewall configure) that was intercepting DNS traffic and routing it to a local resolver.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. AgreedBog

    AgreedBog Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    to update even further,
    i solved the problem in the following way:

    Network setup: ISP router/modem --> Synology AC2600 --> network

    My synology router was set to use the dns of the ISP router, but since this router does not have a DNS server it was unable to resolve anything, by changing this to use the google dns (8.8.8.8) it was able to resolve queries normally and AutoSSL started to work!

    Many thanks for the outstanding support!
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,331
    Likes Received:
    2,160
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi @AgreedBog,

    Thanks for sharing the solution!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice