The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

httpd and procs limit

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by latpanel, Feb 5, 2006.

  1. latpanel

    latpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My PRM send me this message

    This is an automated status warning from servidor.espaciolatino.com. The process (558) has exceeded defined resource limits, as such a kill signal was invoked from the process resource monitor.

    - Event Summary:
    USER: nobody
    PID : 558
    CMD : /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd
    CPU%: 0 (limit: 65)
    MEM%: 0 (limit: 25)
    PROCS: 160 (limit: 150)

    Then I suppose this is the cause of the random crashes suffered by my server for last weeks.
    How can I avoid these crashes?

    I need any kind of help
    Thanks
     
    #1 latpanel, Feb 5, 2006
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2006
  2. rustelekom

    rustelekom Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    moscow
    just increase limit of httpd processes (of course if you would like this). can be done by editing /usr/local/prm/rules/httpd
     
  3. latpanel

    latpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks, I'll do so.
    But now I wonder if it is normal this amount of process and if this could be the origin of my server crashes, not kill produced by PRM, but server resets.
     
  4. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It is normal for a busy server to go above the 150 limit. If you have a really busy server you are going to have to increase it a lot more.

    Depending on why the server crashed it may be related, if you are having trouble with the load then maybe? If it is not high laod then it is probably not related.
     
Loading...

Share This Page