The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

httpd.conf changed on every update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by badzilla, May 21, 2008.

  1. badzilla

    badzilla Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay, I got a weird problem.

    I want to control the httpd.conf, so I created a main.local with the following snippet

    Code:
    <Directory />
      Order Deny,Allow
      Deny from all
      AllowOverride None
      Options None
    </Directory>
    but on every daily automatic update it changes to

    Code:
    <Directory />
      AllowOverride all
      Options all
    </Directory>
    If I log in to the shell and run

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/build_apache_conf
    the httpd.conf is once again build correctly with the directory-settings I want.

    So what is going on. I'm not extremely happy about this, and would like to know why this is happening.

    Regards,
    Michael
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the report. I can duplicate this behavior on the latest published CURRENT and am filing a report with the developers for the matter to be addressed.
     
  3. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Frontpage requires the modifications you're seeing to the httpd.conf. It's being done by /scripts/checkallowoverride upon upcp.
     
  4. badzilla

    badzilla Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm not using frontpage. Any way to avoid this ?
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    1. echo "/scripts/rebuildhttpdconf" >> /scripts/postupcp
    2. chmod +x /scripts/postupcp

    The above is a work around. At the end of upcp, httpd.conf will be rebuilt to restore your Directory block.
     
Loading...

Share This Page