The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

httpd.conf corruption

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hostit1, May 29, 2004.

  1. hostit1

    hostit1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A strange thing is happening on a server that we have. We have 360 users on a quad server. Sometimes the httpd.conf file will be corrupted. Today, I went into whm and it said I only had 20 accounts.

    This has happened twice on this server. Last time, it said I had 120 accounts.

    Luckily, I make a backup of the configuration files daily and I was able to restore.

    There are no apparent rootkits installed. To be on the safe side, I am going to move all accounts from this server to another server, but we must find out what is causing this httpd.conf corruption!!!!!!

    Sincerely,


    Mark Langston
    Host It Now Networks
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    You could run badblocks to check for a corrupt filesystem. I haven't had this happen in a while, but in my case, its happened on drives going bad. This may also be caused by 2 people ( perhaps resellers ) creating an account at the same time, which would cause problems. I believe a proposed fix exists in the bugzilla system, perhaps you can have a look and vote for the bug if ya find it ;)
     
  3. hostit1

    hostit1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the advice. I did check badblocks, and everything seems to be fine! We don't have any resellers on this server and the server is at compacity, so we have not been adding users. This is really weird stuff. At first I believed that maybe I had an employee that was goofing with the production box, but I reviewed his bash history and he did not su into root.

    Really weird stuff.
     
  4. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This happened to us when we edited the packages. We found that http.config would drop half the accounts when we did this. Now we only upgrade or downgrade one account at a time.
     
  5. hostit1

    hostit1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We were NOT upgrading any accounts at time of corruption

    We were NOT upgrading any accounts at time of corruption.
     
  6. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This has happened to us on at least two occasions. Forunately, we had a saved httpd.conf file on both occassions. We were missing about 150 domains and it was nearly impossible to work out which domains those were but after we restored the backup httpd.conf everthing was smooth sailing from there. Suggestion, always backup httpd.conf before rebuilding Apache. To this day we dont know what caused it.
     
  7. Silverado

    Silverado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Backyard - Poolside
    We justg rolled back the apache conf within our WHM on one server missing almost 200 accounts and within a few seconds and it was all there, back again to normal. :)
    I would have prefered to had a backup of the httpd.conf but we didn't. :)
     
  8. iko

    iko Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Although we have a backup of httpd.conf we need to use it a lot of times and this doesn't solve the problem. The problem is somewhere in cpanel, I believe. Httpd.conf regularly becomes corrupted. It is not a particular problem. It is a widespread problem that will affect you soon if you are not affected. Many users are complaining about this and I am surprised that cPanel stuff have NOT done anything to fix it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page