The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

httpd.conf errors

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ezhostingpro, Nov 22, 2005.

  1. ezhostingpro

    ezhostingpro Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am running WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.1-R30 on centos 4.2 it is a brand new server and I keep getting this error when trying to ransfer or add an account.

    Fatal Error! Unable to open httpd config file /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf!

    All the old posts point this as a bug and none give a way to fix it. If some one has any insight please let me know it is causing issues with the transfering of accounts from one server to another
     
  2. Ali Hamad

    Ali Hamad Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello !

    give me the result of the two following commands :

    PHP:
    ls -all /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf

    lsattr 
    /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf
    Regards,
     
  3. aykfounder

    aykfounder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    could it be a permissions issue? Maybe it needs to be chmodded?
     
  4. aykfounder

    aykfounder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Also, is the httpd.conf file there?
     
  5. ezhostingpro

    ezhostingpro Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    root@ezhosta [/etc/init.d]# ls -all /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf
    -rw------- 1 root root 39618 Nov 23 07:49 /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf

    root@ezhosta [/etc/init.d]# lsattr /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf
    ------------- /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf


    I tired changing permission to 644 and 755 neither worked.
     
  6. WindyT

    WindyT Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Was this matter ever settled?

    I have a brand spanking new server (CentOS 4.2)
    with a one day old install of Cpanel (Current)

    and went to copy over an account from the other Cpanel box I've got

    And had the same result, and exactly the same response from
    those ls commands.

    Is this a permissions issue, or a bug where I'm not being allowed to transfer across individual accounts?

    I'd like to eventually do a mass transfer, but obviously I'm in testing mode with just transferring just the one domain across.

    I'm on a time constraint here, so any timely help would be appreciated.
     
  7. WindyT

    WindyT Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Answering my own question:

    On the third attempt with the same domain, the transfer went through.
    One thing I did where I have no idea if it worked or not was...
    I edited the original user name on the other server. The user name on the old server had a
    hyphen in it (my-website.com username my-web) and changed it to myweb
    and perhaps that was the issue.

    I'll respond again if things go back to failing.

    EDIT: The message
    still appeared in WHM panel during the copy of the domain, but as mentioned the account apparently transferred over properly.
     
    #7 WindyT, Dec 20, 2005
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2005
  8. parasane

    parasane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dickson City, Pennsylvania (USA)
    Those permissions don't look right to me.... try this:

    chmod 644 /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf

    You may also want to do this:

    chown apache:apache /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf

    (Replace apache:apache with whatever user:group your Apache server runs under. E.g.: nobody:nobody, httpd:httpd).

    ~ Dan
     
  9. WindyT

    WindyT Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I did both of the suggested changes, the chmod to 644 and changing the owner of apache from root root to nobody nobody and then tested with
    ls -la

    And then a funny thing happened. The permissions/ownership of the file reverted after a few minutes. I repeated that twice. I think my server is trying to tell me something. Sorry to be the doofus here on this. Obviously there's a daemon file that knows to reset that. Repeated this with the reset of permissions duplicated.

    by the way, in the "copy account from another server with the account password" section, this is the portion of the response that has the failure in context
    could this only be related to the "Storing Subdomains?"
    There are no subdomains to speak of on either server, but perhaps there's a cpanel setting I've never looked for that might be the issue.

    Aside from the listed error, the accounts are transferring normally. I'll be doing a mass transfer later today and this is all part of test mode. It'll be my first mass move.

    Again, I hate to be the doofus on this, but since the accounts are transferring individually fine with that one error I haven't seen with the identical procedure on my older WHM setup (not running CentOS), I'll assume I can ignore the error for now. I initially tagged the error as the first transfer just didn't take, but now realize the error is probably unrelated to the success of the transfer.

    Oh, and no (related) errors on
    /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log
    but if there's another log where the subject error might be chronicled, please reply.

    Thanks all!
     
  10. parasane

    parasane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dickson City, Pennsylvania (USA)
    Windy,

    When is the last time you did a scan on your box to make sure that everything was alright?

    ~ Dan
     
  11. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    What version do you have on your server...? did you try upgrading or changing the tree..?
     
  12. WindyT

    WindyT Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    As mentioned, this is a fresh install, done by CPLicensing. And it done on a fresh CentOS 4.1 install, which I now notice got upgraded during CPLicensing's install process to CentOS 4.2

    So, my config is
    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.1-C66
    CentOS 4.2 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    I had a glitch that wasn't a glitch yesterday, the first day of install, and I ran every check I could on the server, with no issues. The glitch was a firewall issue that was solved. All other of the initial checks on the server seem to work out fine.

    My old box is a VPS I'm leaving today, and so while I have some minor CPanel experience, there are some issues I haven't dealt with up to now. Any of those issues I'll save for a separate thread.

    I tested out some "Copy multiple accounts from another server" with two of the remaining sites on the old box, and they went flawlessly -- without error messages. I have about five dozen more sites to copy across this evening, and I feel confident the transfers will go well.

    I'll continue to use the "Copy multiple accounts from another server" anyway, now.

    Thanks again!
     
Loading...

Share This Page