The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

httpd.conf Include Files Not Working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gldickens3, Oct 5, 2008.

  1. gldickens3

    gldickens3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The httpd.conf Include files in my cPanel installation do not appear to be working.

    I have successfully added a new SSL certificate for a domain and need to modify the Virtual Host in my httpd.conf file to properly specify the DocumentRoot for the Virtual Host. The DocumentRoot was set to /usr/local/apache/htdocs, which is the default, and I need to change it to the directory where my website resides. I would normally just edit the httpd.conf file, however, I have read the following cPanel instructions which require that I implement my changes as include files:

    http://cpanel.net/support/docs/ea/ea3/customdirectives.html

    As specified in the above document, I have put my DocumentRoot directive here:

    /usr/local/apache/conf/userdata/ssl/2/nobody/<ssl domain name>/domain.conf

    My domain.conf file contains this one line:

    DocumentRoot /home/<cpanel user name>/public_html

    After which, I have run both of the following scripts without success:

    /scripts/ensure_vhost_includes --user=<username>
    /scripts/ensure_vhost_includes --all-users

    According to the above cPanel document, after running these scripts the Include directives should have been added to my VirtualHost but they were not. So, my DocumentRoot directive was not implemented. Either I am doing something stupid or this stuff is broken on my machine.

    Also, I have verified that my Include files are valid by running:

    /scripts/verify_vhost_includes

    Nothing that I do causes my new Document Root to be implemented via the Include file as per cPanel's documentation. I hope that somebody can enlighten me as to what I am doing wrong.

    FYI, I am running Apache v2.2.9 with EA v3.2.0 and WHM 11.23.2 cPanel 11.23.6-R27698.

    As an aside, it sure would have been nicer if I could have just modified my httpd.conf file like I have always done in Linux/Unix without all this extra baggage. The cPanel folks have just about improved their product to the point that it is simply not usable especially for *nix command line folks.

    Thanks,

    Gordon Dickens
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel welcome to let our technical analysts diagnose why your customizations are not working as you intended. You can do this by submitting a support ticket.
     
  3. gldickens3

    gldickens3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi David,

    Thanks for your reply! I've got that ball in motion. About an hour ago I requested my hosting provider, bocacom.net, to submit a support ticket in my behalf.

    FYI,

    Gordon
     
  4. sehh

    sehh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    Please let us know how they fix the problem since we've seen this problem appear on a few of our servers, but not all. So far its not a major problem for those servers which are not heavily used but we'd like to solve it.
     
  5. Ghulam Yaseen

    Ghulam Yaseen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Karachi,Pakistan
    Yaseen

    Hello :),

    Can you please do this

    --> vi /etc/httpd/httpd.conf
    --> search for your account name
    --> find there this line
    # Include "/usr/local/apache/conf/userdata/account_name/doamin_name/*.conf"
    Uncomment this line:cool:


     
  6. sehh

    sehh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    EVERY single domain has that line commented.

    Are we supposed to edit the httpd.conf every time we add a domain and manually uncomment that line?

    It seems that once i recompiled apache via EA some time ago, it even stopped reading the "extras" directory with my custom config changes... weird.
     
Loading...

Share This Page