The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HTTPd crashes on modify account ( username change )

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ferdinant, Jul 13, 2006.

  1. Ferdinant

    Ferdinant Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    When resellers change the username of a certain account (using "modify an account"), apache totally crashes complaining about a wrong usergroup.

    Restarting apache doesn't help, because the config stays broken.

    Another thing that's also happening is, is that the

    Code:
    php_admin_value safe_mode 0
    entries in the virtual host are completely erased.

    Anybody an idea how to prevent this from happening? We thought about disabling the "edit-account" reseller option, but prefer a better, nicer solution.
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Check your httpd.conf file
    see if your syntax is ok for starters.

    in ssh type

    httpd configtest
     
  3. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    You'll have to correct the group name in the /etc/group /etc/passwd files to get httpd up and running.


    This directive will break httpd and shouldn't be part of/or inserted in the virtualhost entry. You might try that directive in .htaccess.
     
  4. Ferdinant

    Ferdinant Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    Thanks for the feedback

    I might assume that when I change a username using the "modify an account"-option in WebHost Manager, the groupname is also synced by cpanel and there is no need to manually edit /etc/groups or /etc/passwd right? Correct me if I'm wrong :)

    To figure out what was causing httpd not to start I already did that, and it shows errors about "wrong usergroup".
     
  5. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    I came crosss servers that don't and you'll have to do it manually.

    and... did you correct the usergroup?
     
Loading...

Share This Page