The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

httpd failed...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cz1179, Dec 29, 2004.

  1. cz1179

    cz1179 BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    httpd failed during update apache

    it keeps failing (cutting off) halfway through update apche

    var/log/messages show nothing regarding that too

    ran:

    /scripts/updatenow
    /scripts/fixcommonproblems
    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf

    root@162 [/scripts]# ./easyapache
    --13:09:20-- http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache.sea
    => `buildapache.sea'
    Resolving layer1.cpanel.net... failed: Host not found.
    buildapache.sea: buildapache.sea: No such file or directory
    Waiting for httpd to restart..............finished.


    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.
     
    #1 cz1179, Dec 29, 2004
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2004
  2. StevenC

    StevenC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    check your /etc/resolv.conf it cannot resolve hostnames.
     
  3. bigj

    bigj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tucson,AZ
    >> Resolving layer1.cpanel.net... failed: Host not found.

    Looks like there is a DNS issue resolving the host either on your side or Cpanel's side. Not sure why the updater would erase it's working binary when the update failed though. Strange. Wonder if that is a bug.

    bigj
     
  4. cz1179

    cz1179 BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the resolver was one thing but its still doing it in /scripts/easyapache

    look where it cuts off...


    13:25:36 URL:http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache/1/libmcrypt-2.5.7.tar.gz [523321/523321] -> "libmcrypt-2.5.7.tar.gz" [1]
    Untarring mcryptDone
    configure libmcrypt-2.5.7...(--prefix=/usr --disable-posix-threads)..........Done
    make libmcrypt-2.5.7.......................Done
    make libmcrypt-2.5.7...(install)....Done
    13:26:03 URL:http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache/1/mhash-0.8.18.tar.gz [347483/347483] -> "mhash-0.8.18.tar.gz" [1]
    Untarring mhashDone
    configure mhash-0.8.18...(--prefix=/usr)..........Done
    make mhash-0.8.18.................Done
    make mhash-0.8.18...(install)....Done
    Unable to fetch curl-7.12.0.tar.gz
    Waiting for httpd to restart..............finished.


    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.


    why?
     
  5. bigj

    bigj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tucson,AZ
    Choose the advanced easyapache configuration and remove libcurl, assuming you don't need it. It looks like the entire process fails cause libcurl can't be downloaded.

    bigj
     
  6. cz1179

    cz1179 BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do need it though...where is the problem coming from anyway? layer1 i assume
     
  7. cz1179

    cz1179 BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok it must be a problem on cpanel end because its working past that point now and got cutt off after

    Untarring curl......Done
    configure curl-7.12.0...(--prefix=/usr)......................Done
    make curl-7.12.0.............................................Done
    make curl-7.12.0...(install).....Done
    Unable to fetch flash.tar.gz
    Waiting for httpd to restart..............finished.


    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.
    root@162 [~]#
     
  8. cz1179

    cz1179 BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this is ridiculous

    PHP version file has been updated to 4.3.10
    ./build all
    ./build install
    ./build install
    Executing /scripts/postbuildapache (if exists)...Done
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd: line 89: /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd: No such file or directory
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start: httpd could not be started
    Waiting for httpd to restart..............finished.


    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.


    anyone know how I can correct this?
     
  9. cz1179

    cz1179 BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know how to correct this matter?
     
  10. bigj

    bigj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tucson,AZ
    To be honest I'm not sure what the problem is. I would open up a trouble ticket with Cpanel asap to get a resolution to the matter.

    bigj
     
  11. cz1179

    cz1179 BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know about this?

    I want to learn how to fix this for future reference.
     
  12. chr_nikol

    chr_nikol BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    as u understand, cpanel did it again !!!
    they fucked up the entire system cause they had problem serving some files, and their shitty code deleted your previous binaries before update them !!!

    anyways the solution you can have is only this :

    Enter in SSH as root,
    and type:

    mkdir /home/cpins
    cd /home/cpins
    wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/latest
    sh latest


    With this, everything will be reinstalled, and hopefully your server will finally work...
    Doing this wont destroy any files of hosted sites or databases, but software may need configuration again... (For example apache configurations, and other config in WHM...)
     
  13. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    WHOA!!! What the hell are you telling people???

    That is not the way to resolve a problem. God help your clients.


    The option is as stated, open a ticket with cPanel and have them assist in fixing it.

    As for chr_nikol, if you don't like the product go somewhere else.
     
  14. chr_nikol

    chr_nikol BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok let god help me and my customers,
    and open a ticket for cpanel's help...
    hope the new millenium (3k) find you satisfied with their fast support !!!

    but when u have 100+ domains hosted, and they **** up your apache,
    i think god cant help you...
    cause the customers will tell you to go to hell and refund them !
     
  15. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Never had issues with support being slow, and never had an Apache failure that could not be recovered from. Oh well.
     
  16. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    IS it a full moon or something ?

    Or did a bunch of people get servers for christmas?


    And yea I got my flame suit on
     
  17. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    Funny but probably true.

    BTW - How's the weather down in Arkansas? (Family lives in Pearcy) :)
     
  18. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    How about some basic config error tests.. like

    /etc/init.d/httpd configtest

    This may show what is causing apache to barf.

    You can also just install apache www.apache.org and php seperately www.php.net

    If you rely on cpanel to install everything for you in your environment, where they only really have certain control over, without doing any work yourself, then you need to re-think, contract an admin, upskill yourself or as suggested, contact cpanel support and wait for an answer.

    Resolving an apache compile error is a pretty basic skill that anyone hosting clients on a server needs.

    I agree, those that don't like cpanel and are trolling the forums atm, go use ensim or something else and quit whining, you are getting boring. :)
     
  19. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This week weather is great was 70 today but last week was terrible got about 5 inches of snow and ice

    Pearcy ? or Searcy ?
     
  20. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Cool, actually Pearcy west of Hot Springs.
     
Loading...

Share This Page