The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

httpd Failed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Adam228, Jan 4, 2005.

  1. Adam228

    Adam228 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I searched the forums, and tried alot of the '/scripts/ fixes, but none of them seem to work..

    I get this error when trying to start httpd....

    Syntax error on line 801 of /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf:
    AddCharset requires at least two arguments, a charset (e.g., iso-2022-jp), followed by one or more file extensions


    I opened httpd.conf, but there is no line 801 :confused:

    I was updating apache when I got this error now apache has failed and my website is down :(
     
  2. cz1179

    cz1179 BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you update via WHM or /scripts/easyapache?

    What scripts did you run anyway? It is good to list all you attempted
     
  3. Adam228

    Adam228 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried both ways, got the error

    'httpd could not be started contact your sysadmin"

    I ran

    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconffromproftpd
    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf
    /scripts/upcp --force
    /scripts/updatenow -v
    /etc/init.d/httpd configtest
    /scripts/fixcommonproblems
    /scripts/updatenow

    I also tried updating cpanel through WHM (stable release)


    root@slip [~]# /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd stop
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd stop: httpd (no pid file) not running

    root@slip [~]# service httpd restart
    /etc/init.d/httpd restart: httpd not running, trying to start
    Syntax error on line 801 of /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf:
    AddCharset requires at least two arguments, a charset (e.g., iso-2022-jp), followed by one or more file extensions
    /etc/init.d/httpd restart: httpd could not be started
     
  4. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Open your httpd.conf file and look at all your AddCharset lines (yes there are a lot) and look for one that does not have two arguments. You can try commenting it out and restarting apache, or you can post which one it is here and I can tell you what the whole line should read.
     
  5. Adam228

    Adam228 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    here are all the AddChar lines I have..

    AddCharset ISO-8859-8 .iso8859-8
    AddCharset ISO-2022-JP .jis
    AddCharset ISO-2022-KR .iso-kr
    AddCharset ISO-8859-2 .iso-pl
    AddCharset Big5
    <VirtualHost 209.67.xxx.xxx> (edited IP)
    ServerName slip.northcentralonline.com
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    </VirtualHost>

    ErrorDocument 400 /400.shtml
    ErrorDocument 401 /401.shtml
    ErrorDocument 403 /403.shtml
    ErrorDocument 404 /404.shtml
    ErrorDocument 500 /500.shtml
    ScriptAlias /cgi-sys/ /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/
    Alias /sys_cpanel/ /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/
    Alias /java-sys/ /usr/local/cpanel/java-sys/
    Alias /img-sys/ /usr/local/cpanel/img-sys/
    Alias /akopia/ /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/share/akopia/
    Alias /neo-images/ /usr/local/cpanel/base/neomail/neo-images/
    ScriptAliasMatch ^/cpanel/(.*) /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/redirect.cgi
    ScriptAlias /cpanel /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/redirect.cgi
    ScriptAlias /whm /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/whmredirect.cgi
    ScriptAlias /securewhm /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/swhmredirect.cgi
    ScriptAlias /webmail /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/wredirect.cgi
    ScriptAliasMatch ^/webmail/(.*) /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/wredirect.cgi
    ScriptAliasMatch ^/kpanel/(.*) /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/redirect.cgi
    ScriptAlias /controlpanel /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/redirect.cgi
    ScriptAlias /securecontrolpanel /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/sredirect.cgi
    Alias /mailman/archives/ /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/archives/public/
    ScriptAlias /mailman/ /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/cgi-bin/
    Alias /pipermail/ /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/archives/public/
    Alias /interchange/ /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/share/interchange/
    Alias /interchange-5/ /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/share/interchange-5/

    <Location /whm-server-status>
    SetHandler server-status
    Order deny,allow
    Deny from all
    Allow from 127.0.0.1
    </Location>
    ExtendedStatus On

    Cheers!
     
  6. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Its probably that big5 line. Change it to:

    AddCharset Big5 .Big5 .big5
     
  7. Adam228

    Adam228 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Very Cool, Thank You Very much!
     
  8. Adam228

    Adam228 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well now php isn't working :(

    Any chance those changes messed it up?
     
  9. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    No, not really.

    You might want to try recompiling apache again using /scripts/easyapache
     
  10. brentp

    brentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ayr, North Queensland, Australia
    start httpd from /usr/local/apache/bin by doing ./httpd and paste the errors. If its something about libmysqlclient do: ln -s /usr/lib/libmysqlclient.so.12 /usr/lib/libmysqlclient.so.14

    Regards,
    Brent
     
Loading...

Share This Page