The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Eugene, Aug 28, 2004.

  1. Eugene

    Eugene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    I have looked at these posts and my Apache is still not working.

    I have tried these:

    /scripts/upcp

    /scripts/easyapache

    /scripts/fixcommonproblems

    and deleted the big log files.

    Any help is greatful.
     
  2. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    What do you get with the following command:

    service httpd configtest

    and what kind of errors are you seeing in
    /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log
     
  3. Eugene

    Eugene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My server was attacked a few days ago. Maybe by an mySQL database.

    Here is my error_log info:

    Aug 27 09:48:59 2004] [warn] VirtualHost 12.12.12.12:80 overlaps with VirtualHost 12.12.12.12:80, the first has precedrecedence, perhaps you need a NameVirtualHost directive

    Here is my service httpd configtest info:
    [Sat Aug 28 11:39:25 2004] [warn] VirtualHost 66.98.184.49:80 overlaps with VirtualHost 12.12.12.12:80, the first has precedence, perhaps you need a NameVirtualHost directive
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you checked the httpd.conf for the NameVirtualHost directive?
     
  5. Eugene

    Eugene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    About what line number or what part of the httpd.conf file should this NameVirtualHost directive be at?
     
  6. StevenC

    StevenC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Depends on the configration
     
  7. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Generally after the SSL section where you see references to VirtualHost(s) directives.
     
  8. Eugene

    Eugene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    Well I got my Apache working by deleteing all the VirtualHost in the httpd.conf file, but I left only one domain in there and that is the main domain and that is working.

    Now, everything is pointing to my main domain.
    My sub-domains are not working.

    Any help?
     
  9. Eugene

    Eugene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    Now when I ran:
    /scripts/easyapache
    my server died.
     
  10. Eugene

    Eugene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My error message after running /scripts/easyapache :

    [Sun Aug 29 18:08:17 2004] [warn] VirtualHost 66.98.184.49:80 overlaps with VirtualHost 66.98.184.49:80, the first has precedence, perhaps you need a NameVirtualHost directive
     
  11. Eugene

    Eugene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    I think I fixed it.
     
  12. HostEmergency

    HostEmergency Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Normally when my httpd dies and a simple httpd restart won't work then since I'm stupid but smarter than Managed.com's technical support I just rebuild apache then reboot server works great and fast after that.
     
  13. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    it is unnecessary to reboot the server after an apache rebuild.
     
Loading...

Share This Page