Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

httpd/named won't start, VirtualHost error.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rajonbh, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. rajonbh

    rajonbh Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Stockaryd, Sweden
    I'm fairly new to server management and just recently got my first dedicated server with whm/cpanel.

    I was trying to restart the httpd-service and got the following error:
    So in SSH I ran service start httpd and got the following:
    I've googled like crazy but not really found anything working or useful(readable).
    Have attached the VirtualHost-section of httpd.conf:
    Code:
    # DO NOT EDIT. AUTOMATICALLY GENERATED.  IF YOU NEED TO MAKE A CHANGE PLEASE USE THE INCLUDE FILES.
    NameVirtualHost *
    
    # Default vhost for unbound IPs
    
    <VirtualHost *>
        ServerName rajonbh.domain.com
        DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
        ServerAdmin webmaster@domain.com
        <IfModule mod_suphp.c>
            suPHP_UserGroup nobody nobody
        </IfModule>
    </VirtualHost>
    
    # DO NOT EDIT. AUTOMATICALLY GENERATED.  IF YOU NEED TO MAKE A CHANGE PLEASE USE THE INCLUDE FILES.
    
    # SSL
    <IfDefine SSL>
    </IfDefine>
    
    # DO NOT EDIT. AUTOMATICALLY GENERATED.  IF YOU NEED TO MAKE A CHANGE PLEASE USE THE INCLUDE FILES.
    NameVirtualHost 91.205.62.130:80
    
    <VirtualHost 91.205.62.130:80>
        ServerName domain.com
        ServerAlias www.domain.com
        DocumentRoot /home/username/public_html
        ServerAdmin webmaster@domain.com
        ## User username # Needed for Cpanel::ApacheConf
        <IfModule mod_suphp.c>
            suPHP_UserGroup username username
        </IfModule>
        <IfModule !mod_disable_suexec.c>
            SuexecUserGroup username username
        </IfModule>
        CustomLog /usr/local/apache/domlogs/domain.com-bytes_log "%{%s}t %I .\n%{%s}t %O ."
        CustomLog /usr/local/apache/domlogs/domain.com combined
        ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/username/public_html/cgi-bin/
    </VirtualHost>
    Include "/usr/local/apache/conf/includes/post_virtualhost_global.conf"
    Include "/usr/local/apache/conf/includes/post_virtualhost_2.conf"
    
    <VirtualHost 91.205.62.130>
    ServerName rajonbh.domain.com
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    </VirtualHost>
    Would be grateful for help.
     
  2. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try
    service httpd configtest
    and see if any errors are reported.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. karlos

    karlos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello,

    I have had the same problem and have seen that for some reason one of the VirtualHost didn't have the port especified, like in your last VirtualHost entry.

    Code:
    <VirtualHost 91.205.62.130[B][I][U]:80[/U][/I][/B]>
    ServerName rajonbh.domain.com
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    </VirtualHost>
    Then service httpd configtest runs without error messages.

    Karlos
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice