The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

httpd/named won't start, VirtualHost error.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rajonbh, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. rajonbh

    rajonbh Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Stockaryd, Sweden
    I'm fairly new to server management and just recently got my first dedicated server with whm/cpanel.

    I was trying to restart the httpd-service and got the following error:
    So in SSH I ran service start httpd and got the following:
    I've googled like crazy but not really found anything working or useful(readable).
    Have attached the VirtualHost-section of httpd.conf:
    Code:
    # DO NOT EDIT. AUTOMATICALLY GENERATED.  IF YOU NEED TO MAKE A CHANGE PLEASE USE THE INCLUDE FILES.
    NameVirtualHost *
    
    # Default vhost for unbound IPs
    
    <VirtualHost *>
        ServerName rajonbh.domain.com
        DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
        ServerAdmin webmaster@domain.com
        <IfModule mod_suphp.c>
            suPHP_UserGroup nobody nobody
        </IfModule>
    </VirtualHost>
    
    # DO NOT EDIT. AUTOMATICALLY GENERATED.  IF YOU NEED TO MAKE A CHANGE PLEASE USE THE INCLUDE FILES.
    
    # SSL
    <IfDefine SSL>
    </IfDefine>
    
    # DO NOT EDIT. AUTOMATICALLY GENERATED.  IF YOU NEED TO MAKE A CHANGE PLEASE USE THE INCLUDE FILES.
    NameVirtualHost 91.205.62.130:80
    
    <VirtualHost 91.205.62.130:80>
        ServerName domain.com
        ServerAlias www.domain.com
        DocumentRoot /home/username/public_html
        ServerAdmin webmaster@domain.com
        ## User username # Needed for Cpanel::ApacheConf
        <IfModule mod_suphp.c>
            suPHP_UserGroup username username
        </IfModule>
        <IfModule !mod_disable_suexec.c>
            SuexecUserGroup username username
        </IfModule>
        CustomLog /usr/local/apache/domlogs/domain.com-bytes_log "%{%s}t %I .\n%{%s}t %O ."
        CustomLog /usr/local/apache/domlogs/domain.com combined
        ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/username/public_html/cgi-bin/
    </VirtualHost>
    Include "/usr/local/apache/conf/includes/post_virtualhost_global.conf"
    Include "/usr/local/apache/conf/includes/post_virtualhost_2.conf"
    
    <VirtualHost 91.205.62.130>
    ServerName rajonbh.domain.com
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    </VirtualHost>
    Would be grateful for help.
     
  2. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try
    service httpd configtest
    and see if any errors are reported.
     
  3. karlos

    karlos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    I have had the same problem and have seen that for some reason one of the VirtualHost didn't have the port especified, like in your last VirtualHost entry.

    Code:
    <VirtualHost 91.205.62.130[B][I][U]:80[/U][/I][/B]>
    ServerName rajonbh.domain.com
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    </VirtualHost>
    Then service httpd configtest runs without error messages.

    Karlos
     
Loading...

Share This Page