The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

httpd or mysql problem?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PattyO, May 6, 2012.

1. PattyO

PattyO Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello all. My first time here. :)

I'm completely new to server management and trying to learn mostly with the help of my good friend Mr. Google. But I'm stuck with this problem for days already and don't know what else to do.

Last weekend my client's server had a serious hardware problem and had motherboard and HD replaced. After that I had to copy all data from the old HD to the next one. Mr. Google helped me here, since support wanted to charge me US$ 60 for it, and I knew that I'd end up doing everything myself anyway.

I did OK, I guess, for a first timer. But the next morning all sites were down, although the server was running. I restarted Apache and everything went back to normal. Unfortunately for few hours only. So the whole week sites are going offline every few hours and I need to restart Apache over and over again every few hours or so. I tried using a cronjob to have Apache restarted every 30 minutes but it's not working, for Apache is on now for over 2 hours already. I also know this is not the solution to the problem, but at least it would keep the sites on during the night while I try to get some sleep.

This is the cronjob: */30 * * * * /etc/init.d/httpd restart >/dell/null 2>&1

Server is not overloading before sites go off or at any other time as a matter of fact. It seems to be running pretty smoothly actually, except for that.

I also checked my.cnf and was puzzled to find nothing there. So I copied the settings from a similar server I have at another DC (this one managed by them, thank God!) and restarted mysql.