The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

https and http for one domain name

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by yoachan, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. yoachan

    yoachan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Dear all,

    Due to security issue, one sub domain needs to be able to be accessed either using http or https.
    My question is:
    How to make it happens with WHM/CPanel?

    any help appreciated.

    regards,

    yoachan
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm not entirely certain I understand the question. If a subdomain needs to have an SSL certificate on it, then you would need to generate a CSR in WHM > Generate a SSL Certificate and Signing Request area, purchase a certificate using that CSR at a certificate provider, then install the certificate onto the subdomain in WHM > Install a SSL Certificate and Setup the Domain area.

    If this is not what is needed for the question, please let us know what is specifically the issue.
     
  3. yoachan

    yoachan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    @cPanelTristan: Thanks for your reply.

    What I'm trying to say is we need to make our domain to be accessed by both http and https.
    eg: http://www.domain.com and https://www.domain.com.
    The reason is that we want our avarage user to be able to access our site via https. But for some minor users that only accessing non crucial data and don't have a https permission in their proxy, we will allow reguler http access.

    regards,

    yoachan
     
  4. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you would need install an SSL certificate (Secure Socket Layer) in order to user https
     
  5. Breezehost

    Breezehost Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    May I would be wrong, but the site with ssl installed works with http as well. Just try it and let us know too.
     
Loading...

Share This Page