The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HTTPS not working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by drwhiz, Apr 7, 2004.

  1. drwhiz

    drwhiz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NeverLand
    Hey people,

    I have a VPS running with WHM/cPanel. I can pretty much do and run everything as per normal. However, i cannot seem to load neither cPanel nor WHM in secure mode. If i load it under https// it gives me a page not found error.

    Any assistance?

    Thanks!
     
  2. drwhiz

    drwhiz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NeverLand
    just killed ssl and started it again and i get a different message now.

    Forbidden
    You were denied access because:
    Access denied by access control list.

    Can i get some help please? if i am to add some zones to ACL, it won't be practical to add for all my clients who would want to use the HTTPS version also?

    Thanks!
     
  3. jupiter

    jupiter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This can be a very confusing error for many folks. The first knee jerk reaction is to blame the server or the host of the page being visited.. This is not the case.

    It first happened to me when my browser was hijacked and the hijack was going through a proxy and every time I tried to go to a secure page containing https:// I was redirected to some error page and it nearly drove me nuts. I got fed up and ran a trojan /hijack scanner and discovered I was indeed hijacked.. as a side note... it proves that many hijacks don't handle https very well LOL Hijacks usually use proxy servers to collect the data....

    Now when it happens its the first thing I check for...

    Now this particular error you posted above can happen to anyone accessing web docs...
    generally https through a proxy. Users that I know of that use direcway have this problem frequently because they add tweeks and additional proxies to get faster https speed but
    they get blocked at the proxy source from what I understand and get the exact error you got.

    Lots of write ups on google about it..

    Many pages say try rebooting but I always found checking for hijacks and disabling any proxy settings I have in my browser, in case its the proxy I may be using at the time, usually clears up the problem.

    SOooooo It could be 1 of 2 things.... 1. a hijack or 2. simply a bad connnection / proxy setting like what happens to alot of sattelite users like direcway subscribers...

    The solution?

    first try....

    checking your browser settings to disable any proxy you may be using and retry the url AFTER clearing your browsers history and cache while on an unrelated site (wouldn't want to re cache the error opage your currently on!)

    If that didnt work try rebooting and reconnecting to the web for these dialup users...

    Then if that didnt work, its probably becasue you were hijacked...

    Go get a few hijack scanners or trojan scanners or pest control utilities and run them on your home computer and remove all hijacks.... There are quite a few scanners available out there but its wise to get at least a couple of them as it will cover more territory.


    Hope this helps.. I know it did for me..

    Jupiter :)
     
    #3 jupiter, Feb 11, 2005
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page