The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

https://secure.domain.com is not working.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tekdns, Nov 4, 2002.

  1. tekdns

    tekdns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I installed SSL to new domain at my server.

    I installed to secure.domain.com

    Installation succesfully completed.But https://secure.domain.com is not working.

    Why?

    Thanks for your help
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    One thing to check, is in httpd.conf do you see something like?
    I've found a couple of times where this was missing.

    &IfDefine SSL&
    &VirtualHost xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:443&
    ServerAdmin webmaster@secure.domain.com
    DocumentRoot /home/domain/public_html
    ServerName secure.domain.com
    CustomLog /usr/local/apache/domlogs/domain.com-ssl_log &%t %{version}c %{cipher}c %{clientcert}c&
    SSLEnable
    SSLCertificateFile /usr/share/ssl/certs/secure.domain.com.crt
    SSLCertificateKeyFile /usr/share/ssl/private/secure.domain.com.key
    SSLLogFile /var/log/secure.domain.com
    UserDir public_html
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/domain/public_html/cgi-bin/
    SetEnvIf User-Agent &.*MSIE.*& nokeepalive ssl-unclean-shutdown
    &/VirtualHost&
    &/IfDefine&
     
  3. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:f242bbb57c][i:f242bbb57c]Originally posted by tekdns[/i:f242bbb57c]

    Hi,

    I installed SSL to new domain at my server.

    I installed to secure.domain.com

    Installation succesfully completed.But https://secure.domain.com is not working.

    Why?

    Thanks for your help[/quote:f242bbb57c]
    refer to this post I've written a how-to there:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/read.php?TID=4004&page=2#17067
     
  4. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    [quote:d735b71fc6][i:d735b71fc6]Originally posted by dgbaker[/i:d735b71fc6]

    One thing to check, is in httpd.conf do you see something like?
    I've found a couple of times where this was missing.

    &IfDefine SSL&
    &VirtualHost xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:443&
    ServerAdmin webmaster@secure.domain.com
    DocumentRoot /home/domain/public_html
    ServerName secure.domain.com
    CustomLog /usr/local/apache/domlogs/domain.com-ssl_log &%t %{version}c %{cipher}c %{clientcert}c&
    SSLEnable
    SSLCertificateFile /usr/share/ssl/certs/secure.domain.com.crt
    SSLCertificateKeyFile /usr/share/ssl/private/secure.domain.com.key
    SSLLogFile /var/log/secure.domain.com
    UserDir public_html
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/domain/public_html/cgi-bin/
    SetEnvIf User-Agent &.*MSIE.*& nokeepalive ssl-unclean-shutdown
    &/VirtualHost&
    &/IfDefine&

    [/quote:d735b71fc6]

    There's an obvious reason why it is missing. If you define a hostname for the cert that didn't exist before (i.e., 'secure'), then there will not be an entry on port 80 already in the httpd.conf file for 'secure.host.com'. If the non-secure entry wasn't created by WHM, then the secure version will also not get created.

    You simply need to add that block you defined each and every time you use a hostname for the secure URL that didn't have a non-secure block already defined.

    If you had made your cert for 'www.host.com' the odds are very high that everything would work without manual intervention assuming you used WHM to create the original non-secure entry (WHM defaults the ServerName to 'www.host.com').

    Jaz
     
  5. tekdns

    tekdns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    But, i don't want shared SSL.

    This is only URL SSL.
     
  6. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:75a34b67b3][i:75a34b67b3]Originally posted by ITF[/i:75a34b67b3]
    refer to this post I've written a how-to there:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/read.php?TID=4004&page=2#17067
    [/quote:75a34b67b3]
    [quote:75a34b67b3][i:75a34b67b3]Originally posted by tekdns[/i:75a34b67b3]

    Hi,

    But, i don't want shared SSL.

    This is only URL SSL.[/quote:75a34b67b3]
    They are not much different in installation except that you have not to modify httpd.conf as described in that how-to ( http://forums.cpanel.net/read.php?TID=4004&page=2#17067 )
    !

    In addition, you should replace FQDN with your secure.domain.com (in your case) and use your username during installation


    [quote:75a34b67b3]
    &IfDefine SSL&
    &VirtualHost 10.20.30.40:443&
    ServerAdmin webmaster@secure.domain.com
    DocumentRoot /home/username/public_html
    ServerName secure.domain.com
    CustomLog /usr/local/apache/domlogs/secure.domain.com-ssl_log &%t %{version}c %{cipher}c %{clientcert}c&
    SSLEnable
    SSLCertificateFile /usr/share/ssl/certs/secure.domain.com.crt
    SSLCertificateKeyFile /usr/share/ssl/private/secure.domain.com.key
    SSLCACertificateFile /usr/share/ssl/certs/secure.domain.com.cabundle
    SSLLogFile /var/log/secure.domain.com

    UserDir public_html

    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/username/public_html/cgi-bin/

    SetEnvIf User-Agent &.*MSIE.*& nokeepalive ssl-unclean-shutdown
    &/VirtualHost&
    &/IfDefine&
    [/quote:75a34b67b3]
     
  7. tekdns

    tekdns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Problem source is isp cache

    :)

    I understood.
     
Loading...

Share This Page