The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I am about to go insane! Please help!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by brianteeter, Feb 16, 2002.

  1. brianteeter

    brianteeter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    All I am trying to do is move my wife's site from one server to another. Here goes. Note that DNS lookups point to the server as on the IP 216.12.211.202. Which is correct.

    Now when you go to http://www.reneeteeter.com you are taken to the server it used to be on and consequently which is also the name server it is defined on: 66.96.208.10. (The home page shows up as KodiWolf.com.

    WHY?!?!?!?!

    This makes no sense to me whatsoever and I've been working on this for hours now.

    Any help is appreciated!

    Thanks - Brian


    root@web2 [/home/reneetee/www]# dig reneeteeter.com

    ; &&&& DiG 9.1.3 &&&& reneeteeter.com
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; -&&HEADER&&- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 12900
    ;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 4, ADDITIONAL: 2

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;reneeteeter.com. IN A

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    reneeteeter.com. 14400 IN A 216.12.211.202

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    reneeteeter.com. 14400 IN NS ns1.assortedinternet.com.
    reneeteeter.com. 14400 IN NS ns2.assortedinternet.com.
    reneeteeter.com. 14400 IN NS ns1.hostnoc.net.
    reneeteeter.com. 14400 IN NS ns2.hostnoc.net.

    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    ns1.hostnoc.net. 172100 IN A 66.96.193.3
    ns2.hostnoc.net. 172100 IN A 66.96.194.3

    ;; Query time: 93 msec
    ;; SERVER: 66.96.208.11#53(66.96.208.11)
    ;; WHEN: Sat Feb 16 22:17:17 2002
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 181
     
  2. Daniel

    Daniel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Most ISPs cache DNS info. So your ISP thinks it knows what IP the domain should go to and does not ask your name server. You will just have to wait for your ISP to update their DNS. Go to tracert.org and trace the domain it should go to the correct IP.
     
  3. wadearnold

    wadearnold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    host command

    It is often useful to use the host command
    [you@foo]$ host &domain you are looking up& &name server you want to use&
    In this case you would use
    host reneeteeter.com
    you can then try it against your dns server
    host reneeteeter.com 66.96.208.10
    and then give it a try against your ISP's name server. You may get diffrent results and then you will know that it is a DNS cache problem. I hope that this helps in the future.
    wade
     
Loading...

Share This Page