The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I can send email but not receive

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by baileyom, Oct 16, 2011.

1. baileyom

baileyom Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, few things first, i'm a total newbie, so can any explanations be explained as easily as possible, thanks. Also I know there is a thread very similar to this at the moment, but our situations are a bit different and I didn't want to hijack it when they are at a mid-point of sorting their own problem. Also i'm not sure if the problem is actually cPanel at all, but i'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction if not.

I've got a VPS with memset that runs cPanel VPS Optimized 3, I've created a email account following the instructions, but via webmail, outlook and thunderbird I can't receive emails on it. In thunderbird when setting up the account using the mail.yourdomain.com it can not find it, but when using SSL (username.miniserver.com) it finds my account and I can send email, but not receive, the mail delivery failure message reports a 550 error and that it's a invaild address. I have tried all this with my firewalla temporaily turned off as I heard it maybe something to do with the ports, but this changed nothing.

Like I say I know nothing about this, I could be missing something very simple. My domain is with 1&1 and I know the MX records, but I haven't changed them anywhere in cPanel, etc, maybe it is something to do with them?

Any advice is appeciated as I really need this setup before I can move on with the project, thanks.

2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Ideally you should be checking with the host first, they'd have given you some details on server setup to get you started.