The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I cannot access whm/cPanel, but can SSH to the server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lucayang0204, Dec 21, 2012.

  1. lucayang0204

    lucayang0204 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    everything was fine half hour ago. but suddemly I cannot access WHM/Cpanel. I tried to ssh to the server, yes, I can. I reboot several times, but the issue still happen. How should I fix it, and what reason cause it. anyone can help me? Thanks a lot.

    Best Regards,

    LY

    - - - Updated - - -

    btw, I also can visit the website on the server, just only cannot access the whm/cpanel.
     
  2. lucayang0204

    lucayang0204 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I receive many email notice as below:

    Service: queueprocd
    Notification Type: failed
    Notification: queueprocd failed @ Fri Dec 21 17:35:19 2012. A restart was attempted automagically.
    Service Check Method: [check command]
    Number of Restart Attempts: 1
    Service Check Raw Output:

    queueprocd is not running

    Startup Log:

    ==> cPanel TaskQueue Processing Daemon version 1.0

    Memory Information:

    Used: 607MB
    Available: 1440MB
    Installed: 2048MB

    Load Information: 1.32 1.12 0.80
    Uptime: 0 days, 0 hours, 13 seconds
    IOStat Information:

    avg-cpu: %user %nice %system %iowait %steal %idle
    11.31 0.20 3.47 5.97 0.00 79.05
    Device: tps Blk_read/s Blk_wrtn/s Blk_read Blk_wrtn

    ChkServd Version: 15.1

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Service: cpanellogd
    Notification Type: failed
    Notification: cpanellogd failed @ Fri Dec 21 17:35:19 2012. A restart was attempted automagically.
    Service Check Method: [check command]
    Number of Restart Attempts: 1
    Service Check Raw Output:

    cpanellogd is not running

    Startup Log:

    ==> cPanel Log Daemon version 25.0

    Memory Information:

    Used: 626MB
    Available: 1421MB
    Installed: 2048MB

    Load Information: 1.40 1.14 0.81
    Uptime: 0 days, 0 hours, 13 seconds
    IOStat Information:

    avg-cpu: %user %nice %system %iowait %steal %idle
    11.21 0.20 3.46 5.98 0.00 79.15
    Device: tps Blk_read/s Blk_wrtn/s Blk_read Blk_wrtn

    ChkServd Version: 15.1

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Anyone can help me to fix it? Thanks a lot for your help

    Best Regards,
     
  3. hgrg

    hgrg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    well just log in and hit
    service cpanel restart
    :)
     
  4. lucayang0204

    lucayang0204 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    as what I said above, I cannot login to whm/cpanel, I can ONLY login to the vps via SSH. so I cannot hit service cpanel restart.
    anyone can help me to fix the error?
     
  5. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, you type:
    Code:
    service cpanel restart
    
    in the SSH command prompt (as root).
     
  6. linux7802

    linux7802 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    No need to worries...simply login in to the Server via putty or what ever ssh client software you are using to connect server

    Once you successfully SSH to the server run the following command

    service cpanel restart

    Or

    /etc/init.d/cpanel restart

    Above both command will start the cPanel

    Now run the command

    /etc/init.d/cpanel status

    Above command will show you the following result

    root@[!]# /etc/init.d/cpanel status
    cpsrvd (pid 27713) is running...
    entropychat is stopped
    stunnel is stopped
    interchange is stopped
    qrunner is stopped

    If you receive the same result, it means cPanel is running now and you can try to access the cPanel and webmail

    Make sure that you have cleared the cache from the local machine browser and then try to access cPanel and webmail and if you are still not able to access cPanel then try to stop the server firewall temporary and browse the cPanel.....
     
  7. hgrg

    hgrg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As they said above you just need to log in over ssh and type the provided command and then press enter...
    after the restart process finished you should be able to log in again.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please also ensure that you have no iptables firewall rules blocking access to the ports required for cPanel. You can try temporarily disabling iptables to determine if that's the case via a command such as:

    Code:
    # /etc/init.d/iptables stop
    Please note you should stop any installed third-party firewall applications before running the above command.

    Thank you.
     
  9. craigedmonds

    craigedmonds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What command would I need to put into ssh in order to grant myself access to whm again?

    Lets say my ip was: 255.255.255.255.

    I have managed to lock myself out of whm and get the 401 page but have full access with ssh.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Are you able to reach the login prompt for cPanel/WHM or does it fail before you get to that point? I suggest making sure there are no firewall rules on your local router or from your ISP blocking access to ports 2082/2083/2086/2087. Beyond that, you can try temporarily disabling your server's firewall using the command in my response above.

    Thank you.
     
  11. craigedmonds

    craigedmonds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Thanks for taking the time to reply.

    In the end after seeing another post on webhostingtalk.com I ssh'd into the server and edited the /etc/hosts.allow and added the following rule.

    whostmgrd : <my_ip> : allow
     
Loading...

Share This Page