The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i cannot edit a dns zone

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Spokuz, Oct 14, 2003.

  1. Spokuz

    Spokuz Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lisbon - Portugal
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i have a problem since the last stable version of cpanel. today i try to edit a dns zone like i do in other times but today, WHM give me the following error:

    "There were errors in the new zone which have been highlighted below, please press the back button an try again!"


    " 14400 IN A near '': bad dotted quad " -> this is the error

    Is the first time that this happen. Can anyone help me?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. kiat

    kiat Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Me too! has the same problem. I update CPanel to 8.5.3-R2 then I got this error after modify zone. I think everyone who on this version will got the same problem. Hopefully next update might help resolve it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. Frenck

    Frenck Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    We have got that problem 2!!

    Hopefully CPanel will fix it today!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    same here with stable release

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. lientje

    lientje Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I don't believe it.

    Yep same problem here

    What kind of idiots are working at Cpanel?

    When we upgrade to Stable we expect Stable.
    Don't you have any test machines there?
    Maby you should a add a new catargory to the update preferences. Super-Stable because Stable is not what we think it is.

    Why are you trying to kill your business AND ours.

    Your one of the most expensive CP's. ACT like it.

    When you go one like this in 3 months we have cpanel 99.x

    I sure hope you do something with this in the near future.:mad:

    Greetings

    Martin

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: cPanel ID# 26477
     
  6. Spokuz

    Spokuz Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lisbon - Portugal
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    run the following commands:

    /scripts/updatenow ; /scripts/upcp ; service cpanel stop ; service cpanel start

    In my case the problem was resolved.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. lientje

    lientje Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yep udate will do the trick

    Martin

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yup that fixes it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. kiat

    kiat Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It fixed! Thank.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just submitted a Bug Ticket on this (forget the number) as I am using: WHM 8.5.1 cPanel 8.5.3-E1 and, after lots of problems recently, am very hesistant on doing an upgrade.

    For others in my situation you can correct the problem by manually editting the /var/named/domain.com.db file. There are two spaces usually at the end of the ftp line that need to be deleted. If not there then go by the error msg. shown after trying to edit a DNS zone.

    i.e,

    ftp 14400 IN A domain.com.
    near 'domain.com.': bad dotted quad

    Although the editting only has to be done once, I'm not sure if the next update will overwrite the changes or correct previous enteries. Might have to edit them all by hand and chattr +i them.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #10 Website Rob, Oct 16, 2003
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2003
  11. Frenck

    Frenck Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Seems to fix it indeed!

    Thanks!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. kb9tyc

    kb9tyc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Solved my problem also.
     
  13. PunK999

    PunK999 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: I don't believe it.


    lientje, you apparently have your head firmly lodged in your ass. The amount of development and testing that goes into Cpanel, is quite extensive and would burn out your underdeveloped brain in the first day. Yes Cpanel has a few bugs and issues, but amount of time and money that is saves by doing EVERYTHING for you should count for something. The fact that you can set up a web host customer in about 30 seconds should also count for something. The fact that they continually update it to patch security issues with mysql, apache, etc... with ONE CLICK of the button should count for something. Perhaps before you post your inane comments you should think about things it does for you. I for one love the fact that it helps me make money.. Thanks Cpanel
     
  14. lientje

    lientje Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yep and it's dark here
    Year right i was thinking we paid Cpanel for this. Silly me.
    Must be my underdeveloped brain.
    But you look smart so maby you can tell me the difference between edge , release and stable updates?
     
  15. SageBrian

    SageBrian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY/CT (US)
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    All I know is I put in a ticket for this, and response was quick.

    It seemed to take a couple of updates for the problem to be fixed, but it was handled quickly enough for me. For the DNS record I needed to change right away, I simply downgraded to the version I knew had worked previously.

    If that hadn't of worked, I would've just edited the text record manually.

    The amount of problems with Stable and Releases has decreased incredibly. To blast Cpanel for an occasional issues is out of line. It was handled quickly once the issue was reported.

    chill a bit :)
     
  16. PunK999

    PunK999 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes we do pay for it.. and sometimes a bug works in. I seriously don’t think you can fathom the amount of things that go into Cpanel. If a bug occasionally slips in, all i ask is they fix it in a timely manner, which they always do. The Stable release is STABLE, it doesn’t crash, it does its job, I can make money and add new customers.. It had one small issue which is fixable and far from a showstopper. Sounds Stable to me.
     
  17. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Some bugs are more noticable than others and some bugs are not. Don't worry though, the more one uses WHM/Cpanel the more one learns about it.

    You'll see. :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page