The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I can´t get DNS to work in VPS via cPanel

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by mvel001, Sep 19, 2011.

1. mvel001

mvel001 Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello People, I am new to VPS and feeling lost on this question of DNS.

I signed a VPS plan which says have "1 dedicated IP" , and since I can´t set properly DNS records, some people told to me I need at least 3 dedicated IPs to work ok, one for apache, the others for ns1 and ns2 servers.

I think the problem has another cause, so I would like to know if someone here have signed a domain.com "standard cPanel" linux plan, which is the one I did with 1 dedicated IP.

I entered VPS root and created an account something.org, this domain is registered ok and was working ok in another hosting service, but when appoint it to new VPS DNS, this domain dissapears from internet after some hours.

I made print screen of DNS functions -> Edit DNS Zone on cPanel to see what looks DNS for this domain , you can see at http://i53.tinypic.com/2utqhl0.jpg ,

I set ns1 and ns2.managemyvps.com on my registrar entry just to see my domain vanish from the net.

If someone dispose to help me and need another cPanel screen with DNS info, please let me know and I will post here.

Thanks

Miguel

2. mvel001

mvel001 Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Just to clear this matter, I am not interested in creating my own nameserver like ns1.mydomain.com or something else, I only want a single nameserver that really WORKS, like other DNS I used in the past, where it was enought go to registrar and put the name hosting services told to me in DNS field and voila ! some hours later domain is ready.