The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I can't install php 5 it just installs php 4 (i tried the 'rename' trick)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bobbybobbertson, Jun 15, 2006.

  1. bobbybobbertson

    bobbybobbertson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm trying to update php. No matter what I check for the version, version 4.4.2 is installed. Is anyone else having this problem?

    I tried the fix below, which has you rename some mysql files, but that doesn't work for me.
    cd /usr/lib/mysql
    rename .a .a_old *.a
    rename .la .la_old *.la

    any ideas? below is some output that may help?
    thanks.




    Building Apache Config.....Done
    Downloading and compiling apache+modules....


    Verifying archive integrity... All good.
    Uncompressing buildapache....................................... .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .......................
    Checking Update System......../etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start: httpd started
    Setting /home permissions to 0711......Done
    Setting permissions for.....wwwbtoon...fantasti...wwwsausa...wwwunoff. ..wwwtyler.........Done
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/buildap...p-4.4.2.tar.gz (0)....@198.66.78.12......connected......receiving ...1%...2%...3%...4%...5%...6%...7%...8%...9%...10 %...11%...12%...13%...14%...15%...16%...17%...18%. ..19%...20%...21%...22%...23%...24%...25%...26%... 27%...28%...29%...30%...31%...32%...33%...34%...35 %...36%...37%...38%...39%...40%...41%...42%...43%. ..44%...45%...46%...47%...48%...49%...50%...51%... 52%...53%...54%...55%...56%...57%...58%...59%...60 %...61%...62%...63%...64%...65%...66%...67%...68%. ..69%...70%...71%...72%...73%...74%...75%...76%... 77%...78%...79%...80%...81%...82%...83%...84%...85 %...86%...87%...88%...89%...90%...91%...92%...93%. ..94%...95%...96%...97%...98%...99%...100%......Do ne
    Untarring php....Done
    Applying CURL curl_formfree patch
    patching file ext/curl/curl.c
    Hunk #1 succeeded at 639 (offset 94 lines).
    Hunk #2 succeeded at 904 (offset 19 lines).
    Running configure:
    LDFLAGS="-L/usr/X11R6/lib64" /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/callbacklog --prog configure --dir /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/build-log -- --with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs --prefix=/usr/local --with-xml --enable-bcmath --enable-calendar --enable-ftp --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysql=/usr --enable-discard-path --with-pear --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --with-zlib

    ./configure [@php-4.4.2]...(--with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs --prefix=/usr/local --with-xml --enable-bcmath --enable-calendar --enable-ftp --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysql=/usr --enable-discard-path --with-pear --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --with-zlib).... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
     
  2. ispro

    ispro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You need to explicitely tell WHM know that you select 5.0.5 instead of default 4.x branch.

    You may also use /scripts/easyapache to build Apache.

    However if you are not sure what to do you may ask someone (heh!) to help :)
     
  3. sitekeeper

    sitekeeper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Troy, Mo
    Run /scripts/easyapache and leave the 4.x.x version checked as it is and ckeck 5.1.4 and add what other options you want (so you wil have php 4.x.x and 5.1.4 checked) and let it run... It will install only 5.1.4.

    Give it a try! :)
     
  4. Parcye

    Parcye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    I can't get it to work in any way. Has somebody got more suggestions?
     
  5. alexwojtowicz

    alexwojtowicz Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I am having this same issue. I am using easyapache too. If I discover something I will post to this topic.

    Thanks
    Alex
     
Loading...

Share This Page