Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

I can't open url

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by alixan, Jun 3, 2008.

  1. alixan

    alixan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hi. I have a problem. When I wrote in address my web-page url with www.***.com he said “ Error. Could not locate remote server.” It said Opera… But when I wrote ***.com (without www) --- he open url. I have DNS server on www.***.net, (*** --- same name). When I wrote www.***.net or ***.net --- he always open url
    Why I can’t open www.***.com?
    It's interesting, bacause all other hosts on my server open excellent with and without www


    Sorry for my English. Thanks.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sounds like a local DNS issue, but check this from a completely different machine to be sure. Perhaps flush your local DNS cache as well as your browser cache.
     
  3. alixan

    alixan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51

    Sorry, i'm begginer...
    What do you mean by that, when said "local DNS"?Did you mean --- DNS on web-server?
    How can i clean DNS cache?

    Thanks beforehand
     
  4. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    You can flush DNS on Linux server using below command:

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/nscd restart

    Also, please make sure that there is a Cname entry exists for www record in your domain’s DNS zone. It should be like below:

    www cname domain name
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In this context, I meant your PC. Consult your PC's Operating System documentation for how to flush DNS cache properly.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice