Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

I changed root file & folder permissions by mistake

Discussion in 'Security' started by Emiliano, May 23, 2013.

  1. Emiliano

    Emiliano Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, United States
    Hello,

    i changed root and files and folders permissions by mistake.
    Is there anyone that know what the files and folder's permission needs to be?

    I used on root:
    find . -type f -exec chmod 644 {} \;
    find . -type d -exec chmod 755 {} \;

    Thank you in advance.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,895
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Did you modify the permissions on all files/directories on the server? If so, it may be safer to go ahead and backup the accounts to a remote location and reinstall the OS/cPanel.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Emiliano

    Emiliano Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, United States
    Hello,
    I know what you mean but that would be a huge work :(
    Any idea to find file permissions so that i can change them manually?
    Thank you
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In what directory you did that?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. storminternet

    storminternet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have another cPanel server to access then check and compare the permission on it and apply the same on your server.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Emiliano

    Emiliano Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, United States
    Yes I did that on ROOT.
    On su - directory or root of server.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. InterServed

    InterServed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you executed the commands on the /root folder , that shouldn't be a problem.
    However if it was executed on the "/" i would also suggest re-installing the operating system.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice