The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I changed the hostname - should I have?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gwgraham, Jul 22, 2008.

1. gwgraham

gwgraham Registered

Hi. I'm a complete newbie with whm and server administration generally. While setting up my new dedicated server, I clicked on hostname under networking setup and understood from what it said that I should modify the hostname to one of my own making. I duly did this changing it from the original value (which was something random like 34jrwe3485.rsclientdns.com) to nylvi.rsclientdns.com.
    Then prompted to add an A entry, I did so (or think I did).

I have to admit I didn't really know why I was doing this, but I did it. Pretty soon, I started to get the feeling I shouldn't have. I now received an email from cpanel detecting a dns problem. See below. Could someone advise me in simple terms on what I have done and how I should fix it (or reverse the change?) Thanks.

--

Problems with dns setup on nylvi.rsclientdns.com

The hostname (nylvi.rsclientdns.com) resolves to . It should resolve to 10.0.6.147. Please be sure to correct /etc/hosts as well as the 'A' entry in zone file for the domain.

Some are all of these problems can be caused by
    /etc/resolv.conf being setup incorrectly. Please check this file if you
    believe everything else is correct.

You may be able to automaticly correct this problem by using the ' Add an A entry for your hostname ' under ' Dns Functions ' in your Web Host Manager

2. cPanelBrandonM

Hello,
    Are you running private nameservers or using your webhosts nameservers?

3. cPanelBrandonM