The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I don't know how to start? (new with linux)

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by mike2004, Sep 16, 2005.

1. mike2004

mike2004 Registered

Sep 16, 2005
    Hello everyone,

After months of research I finally find a right hosting panel (cPanel) to start up my hosting company and I’m glad that I am here now :) I’m very new with Linux and need some help to install my Linux OS, Partioning, and etc. I’m going to list my questions in numbers and I would appreciate on any feedbacks:

*** System I purchased:

Dell SC420 PowerEdge
    2 X 80 GB ATA Hard Disks
    2.6 Intel
    256 Memory

*** Questions:

1) I would like to know if 2 x 80 GB Drives would be enough to start with. Currently I only have 5 hosting accounts and I don’t know how many clients I will bring in after launching my hosting website! Should I get a bigger hard disk just to be safe? Should I get multiple hard disks to separate OS Drive vs. Data? (I’m coming from a Windows Environment and I’m not sure if the same concepts apply to Linux Environment!)

2) How should I partition these drives to work fine with cPanel? (I mean size)

3) To save some money for my startup I decided to go with free linux OS and after researching I decided to go with CentOS 4.1 vs Fedora 4. Did I made the right decision?

4) Can I add more space to my server in the future if I need to?

5) Can I add more memory to my server in the future if I need to?

6) How many NICs I should have in my server for the best performance?

7) Since I’m running behind firewall, what ports I should leave open for my cPanel Server?