The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i got this error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by shreef_1990, May 8, 2011.

  1. shreef_1990

    shreef_1990 Registered

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i face this error wile installing cp on my vps

    ********************* ERROR *********************

    Your hostname is not set properly. Please
    change your hostname to a fully qualified domain name,
    and re-run this installer.

    ********************* ERROR *********************

    my host name is shreef

    how could i solve this problem and what is the ideal form of host name for the install ???

    thanks
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    shreef.yourdomain.com should be ok I would think. ;)
     
  3. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To change the hostname from this short form to the long form (fully qualified domain name), please go to WHM > Change Hostname area and follow the steps there to change to the fully qualified domain name. As Infopro mentioned, shreef.yourdomain.com would work where yourdomain.com is the name of your main domain.
     
Loading...

Share This Page