The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I guess I am leaving cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HostSentry.net, Jul 10, 2007.

  1. HostSentry.net

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hate to say it, but it is true.

    Perl threading is really important to a Perl oriented site, so without it I don't think it is cost effective to continue using cPanel.

    It was fun while it lasted. :p
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Why not just install a threaded version of perl in a different place from source, e.g. into /opt/ is the usual way to do it?
     
  3. HostSentry.net

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Brilliant!

    Great Idea, I had not even thought of that (some how).

    Works perfectly, I won't be leaving the cPanel band-wagon now ;)
     
  4. rajuru

    rajuru Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    but now a days, i am not happy with cpanel. Bcoz i need to run both php4 and php5 simultaneously. or at least per site basis. i dont get php5 clients as my server supports only php4. but i can't use php5 as my sites and customers sites may break down. in near future, php6 is coming...........:mad:

    I think, cpanel should officially support both php4 & php5 and in future php6 simultaneusly or domain/site basis. otherwise i have to switch. i have seen some control panel with this feature.

    :mad::mad:
     
  5. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You seem to be a little more than a bit confused ....

    1. You can run both PHP 4 and PHP 5 side by side on the same server
    and choose which you want to run per account or have both available
    to all accounts. That's pretty simple to setup actually although a
    matter of personal preference since it is really not necessary to run
    both PHP 4 and PHP 5 anymore.

    2. Contrary to what you said above, PHP 5 won't break any customer sites
    and all their scripts should work perfectly under PHP 5 without any
    problems whatsoever.


    PS: Cpanel officially does support both PHP 4 and PHP 5 and has done
    so for a very, very, very long time now.
     
  6. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    http://www.php.net/manual/en/migration5.incompatible.php

    This might help to show the differences between php4 and 5. While there aren't to many instances of backwards incompatibility...there are a few. Most other changes (CLI/CGI file names, etc) won't matter to a cPanel server.

    That said, I've had things break just from upgrading one 4.x version to another 4.x, so it's always best to do your homework and test first.
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In the stage 2 release of cPanel 11, you will very easily be able to run PHP 4 and 5 side-by-side on the same server and your users can choose which version to use. I've been using it for a while and it's very simple and my custom PHP scripts still work flawlessly.

    Regarding PHP 6 - we generally don't begin developing support for something until it is out of the beta/testing phase.
     
  8. katmai

    katmai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    thing to notice.

    Support for PHP 4 will be discontinued at 2007-12-31. Please consider upgrading to PHP 5.2.
     
  9. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In addition to what katmail said, it should also be noted
    that PHP 5 has been out for well over 4 years now!

    Anyone still on PHP 4 is just a little bit slow upgrading ;)
     
  10. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It appears the PHP team will discontinue all support for PHP 4 March, 2008 ONe can track this at GoPHP5.org

    There still is no good ETA on PHP 6

    Everyone should be using the 5.2 branch (ideally).


    EDIT:

    I see the date changed to Aug 2008 (see the article on php.net)
     
    #10 cPanelKenneth, Jul 13, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2007
  11. Silver_2000

    Silver_2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    php5 broke a customer install of Hivemail - I know its an ancient script but .. It still broke
     
  12. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How would this "user selectable switch" work ? In cPanel or in WHM ( client requests admin ) ?
     
  13. gribozavr

    gribozavr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    How it will work technically? mod_php one and FastCGI another?
     
  14. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It will be selectible via the WHM interface, as long as both PHP 4 and 5 were selected and built by EA3 (as for those who build PHP by hand, likely this feature will not support those installs).
     
  15. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is this available in any edge release ?
     
  16. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What is that means ? I ccheck it only have a radio box for you to select 1 option, you can not select both php4 and php5.
     
  17. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That will change, you build php 4 and 5 when with the new EA3, and you`ll have a PHP manager, where you can select how to run PHP 5 and 4, plus which is the default. It`s already available in EDGE. ( Just hooked up a VPS with a cPanel EDGE and tried it out :D ).
     
  18. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Got it, So u mean it will be available soon, maybe 6 months later we can do this in WHM, right ?
     
  19. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was thinking more 2-3 days if you`re using CURRENT build.
     
  20. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am using stable build, u using current build for business working server ?
     

Share This Page