The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I HATE the new forum search!!!!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by carock, Jun 2, 2006.

  1. carock

    carock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Charles, MO
    The search function on this forums software blows! The old search engine was superior, I could actually search for the errors displayed. This search engine barely works at all.

    I can't use this: /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/lib/Horde/IMAP/Tree.php ... it's too long OMG, can you please make the search engine stop whining.

    So I put in just tree.php, no results found. Bullshit! I can put in "Undefined index" and it finds the whole friggin string I typed with tree.php in it and all.

    The only problem is, becuase your new search eingine is just about useless, I have no way of telling I have all the relevant results. It appears there's pretty much nothing else in my error message the stupid search engine will accept, so I'm stuck with an incomplete result set.

    Is there anything you guys can do? At least the old search engine would return results if I just put in tree.php or similar.

    Frustrated!
     
  2. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why dont you talk to vbulletin about their sloppy searches? Its a big problem for me as well, i must admit. I also cant stand the highlighted boxes on the index. What were they thinking. I guess they think i can read at a million miles an hour because they expect you to if you run your cursor over the index pages thread titles. About 2 seconds. Ill have to contact Kevin Treudau and get his mega speed reading course.
     
  3. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why dont you talk to vbulletin about their sloppy searches? Its a big problem for me as well, i must admit. I also cant stand the highlighted boxes on the index. What were they thinking. I guess they think i can read at a million miles an hour because they expect you to if you run your cursor over the index pages thread titles. About 2 seconds. Remind me to contact Kevin Treudau and get his mega speed reading course.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Those little hilight boxes are great for scanning crap threads you want to ignore. Kinda like this one.

    Show me a search feature on a forum anywhere that works as well as VBs does.

    It may be that the search DB needs rebuilt since they upgraded the forums. Could help. Or it may be there are no threads having to deal with a problem you have yet to mention.

    Either way, sounds like you're having a bad day... :rolleyes:
     
  5. GnomeyNewt

    GnomeyNewt Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    The Stars!
    My beef with vb search, is it won't allow words under 3 characters... when it is possible to have acronyms that are 2 characters long. Anyhow, its not the best but it works most of the time for me.
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    A lot of commercial search engines do the same thing, limit to 3 char. min. the reason behind this is purely a performance issue. Also there are a lot of 3 and 4 letter terms that cannot be searched and these are stop lists. The words are just too common and hence search engines are told to ignore them.
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    Sure you can search for 2 letters. I just did a search for IP and got 20 pages of results.
    Not sure if that link will show but you can search for the same thing by adding an asterisk at the end. IP*

    You can find great help on these forums, but this is only one. I'm not sure why more users don't use the big search engine that can yield amazing results.
    Like this search for example.
     
  8. carock

    carock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Charles, MO
    The character limit isn't so much a problem. The stupid search engine would not find a post with this line of text within it.

    /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/lib/Horde/IMAP/Tree.php

    When all I put into the search field was Tree.php

    This is not how the old search engine worked on the old bulletin board.

    vBulletin is a commercial product. They couldn't care less what I think, I didn't give them any money for it. I'm trying to get cPanel the company to fix the "usability" of their "support forums" to be used as a support tool. It;s broken right now, half works which is extremely frustrating when dealing with a closed source commercial software such as cPanel. Especially when you know your answer to your usually stupid question is available within a few seconds if a proper search engine was working here.

    Many people depend on these forums for official support of their cPanel prchase like me. I'm requesting some kind of "fix" to make their forums search engine a working tool for help.

    Thanks,
    Chuck
     
  9. mctDarren

    mctDarren Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Though I know they certainly push you here first, I don't think the forums are an "official" support option for CPanel. Seen numerous times where they have said this is users talking to other users. I hear you though, the new vBulletin search is pretty bad...
     
  10. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    This is certainly not an official support resource, it's for likeminded admins to help each other out if they want to. For official support you have to go through your cPanel license provider.

    If vB has a feature you'd like enabling, contact cPanel directly and ask them about enabling it. If vB doesn't have the feature, you're SOL.
     
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This:

    /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/lib/Horde/IMAP/Tree.php

    Does not work on Google, Ask, MSN, or any other search engine I tried.

    Maybe enabling full text search on the forums would help.

    Either way, good luck. :)
     
  12. eddie

    eddie Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    But if you try /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/lib/ it does work so I would say the full search string that he needs is not available.

    But I am sure that the old search had more options, but because I have never seen the admin interface I would not know what you can do about it.
     
  13. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    After some testing, we converted to full text searching. This should help.
     
  14. carock

    carock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Charles, MO
    Thank you! It found my search I posted. I believe this will return the previous functionality back to the forum search.

    Chuck
     
  15. HollyRidge

    HollyRidge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Garner NC USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Half the time here I cant even get the search button to appear in the menu bar. I have been seeing this every since upgrade to ie7.
     
  16. carock

    carock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Charles, MO
    I've noticed the same problem. I don't know what code it is that makes those links appear between the top graphic and the next block, but it is invisible when I first enter the forums.

    I have to go into a topic, then go back. Once I go back, they magically appear.

    Chuck
     
  17. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hehehe, now I notice :p I thought the menubar had disappeared for always with IE7 (and I used my latop with IE6), but you just have to rattle the cage a bit ;)
     
  18. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Or remove the fancy coding that apparently works fine on Mac but not in IE7.
    I vote for removing the fancy stuff.
     
Loading...

Share This Page