The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I have /home and /home2.. can I backup both to /home2?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fog, Oct 12, 2002.

  1. fog

    fog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I need a backup solution. I have /home and /home2. Both have accounts on them, but each is less than half full. If I use the cpanel backup feature can I enter /home2 as the backup location even though/home2 has site content and such on it?
     
  2. avara

    avara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How about using the rearrange accounts feature to move all your accounts to /home, before setting up /home2 as your backup partition?
     
  3. fog

    fog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That is not an option because I need more than 1 drive for content.
     
  4. fog

    fog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Are the cpanel backups compressed?
     
  5. JustinK

    JustinK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think Nick put up a warning about having backups and content on the same drive as the backups will start replacing the sites.
     
  6. fog

    fog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Whew.. glad I didn't try that then.. thanks for the info... know of any 'backup services' out there?
     
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Backups are zipped. Each user directory is saved as username.tar.gz, but for sites that have images or videos, the backup is pretty well the same size as the original site.

    It is better to have a seperate hard drive, or at least a seperate directory for the backups.
     
  8. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    This will be fine as long as you create


    /home2/backup

    Just don't set it to just /home2
     
  9. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I was going to ask this in a new thread but it fits here too.

    In the &Configure Backup& settings there is:
    Remount/Unmount backup drive (requires a seperate drive/coda/nfs mount)
    with the enabled/disabled option.

    I just had a second hard drive added and partitioned it with /home2 and a seperate /backup directory.
    What is this option and which should I select?
     
  10. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I'll answer my question in case anyone else is ever wondering.

    If your backup directory is on a partition of it's own, enabling that function makes the backup partition hidden for safety.
    If the partition the backup directory is on is used for anything else, the unmount/remount function can not be used.
     
  11. fog

    fog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the info... good to know :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page