The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I have loaded index.html into the public_html folder for a test.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sdavis, Nov 13, 2004.

  1. sdavis

    sdavis Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am using the IP address only, but cannot access the index.html from the web. I have used cpanel before, and am currently using it and understand it. The difference is, I am now also setting up the WHM. I now have a VPS and have root access, whatever that means. I just wanted more bandwidth. Anyway, my provider told me to: "edit... /usr/local/apache/htdocs/index.html" Where is that? How do I find it? Is it in WHM or Cpanel? I tried looking everywhere and cannot find it. Also, when I get there, what do I do?

    I thought this would be a bit simpler.

    Thanks,

    Scott Davis
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    you will have to get to the shell with ssh and then

    cd /usr/local/apache/htdocs/

    and use any editor to edit the index.html

    specially the "vi"
     
  3. sdavis

    sdavis Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I got to the shell, it is a blank page. Where do I find the command structure?

    And what do I do?

    This seems a bit like DOS.

    Thanks,

    Scott Davis
     
  4. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cd /usr/local/apache/htdocs/

    vi index.html

    do the modifications

    ESC ;

    :wq

    thatz all.

    alternatively u can get to me at any of my messenger address on my signature.
     
  5. sdavis

    sdavis Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I got to the index.html in the ssh and now what do I change?

    I see a bunch of HTMP referring to the Cpanel image that comes up when you go to my IP. I cannot edit anything in there, and evenif I could what would I edit? How do I make my index.html go there instead. I see a copy and a paste button under edit, but I cannot see how this does anything. Also, whenI pull up the folder for htdocs, their are about a dozen index.html files there. I put in the vi index.html and assume that is the correct one. I guess I am so new at this, that i need more direct instructions. I am glad you got me here so far, I am learning. I downloaded the complete manual for both cpanel, and whm. I have used cpanel before, but never ran into this.

    Any help will be appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Scott Davis
     
  6. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    can u add me at your Msn/Aim ? That will be a better way that typing it all out here.
     
  7. sdavis

    sdavis Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I sent an email with my address.

    Hi, I sent my address.
     
  8. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    reply sent. please check.
     
  9. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Do you even know why you want to edit the cpanel start page? I can't think of any reason to do that unless you're specially customizing it.

    If you want to setup WHM, you'd better login to your WHM panel and then you can begin setting it up using the web interface.
     
Loading...

Share This Page