The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i have problems loading my backup! :s

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by HNX, Sep 1, 2009.

  1. HNX

    HNX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    In Lindsay Lohan's Bedroom
    Hey guys i did a backup! it gave me a a sql file something.sql

    and i tried loading it on cpanel through the "backup wizard" but its just doing anything, i mean its not loading :s i dont even know if I'm doing it properly :s

    please help,
    HNX
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Another way you can attempt to restore that file is to go to the Backups icon in cPanel (rather than Backup Wizard) and next to where it says "Restore MySQL Database" - upload the .sql file there. Depending on your net connection, the web browser may just appear to not load a page for a while. As long as you do not get any "connection timed out" errors, everything is operating normally. Just wait for the next page to load (which can be several minutes) and then you'll know your database restoration was successful.
     
  3. HNX

    HNX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    In Lindsay Lohan's Bedroom
    I dont have what your saying lemmy show you what i have
    I have FILES
    and I have DATABASES

    I have some other stuff but they are not related to backuping! Lol so If you could please explain what needs to be done! itd be GREAT!!! Lol

    Best Regards,
    HNX
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In that files screen capture you posted, do you see the Backups icon in the top left? That's the icon I was telling you to click on.
     
  5. HNX

    HNX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    In Lindsay Lohan's Bedroom
    Yeah i tried that last time! I let my computer ON for like 2 days! and it just said something like "database restoring!" but in the end nothing actually happened :s

    But Let me try it again and ill keep you posted!
    thanks btw

    EDIT: ok so i took a picture and ill show hold on:
    ok here is the pic! click here
    ok this is what it does ... im sure by tomorrow itll say something like "restoring database" but it wont have any effect.....
    it keeps on loading and thats all :s
    hope this helps in understanding my problem :s

    Regards,
    HNX
     
    #5 HNX, Sep 2, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2009
  6. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you are facing the problem to take backup or restoring database from cPanel, I suggest you to contact your host to do it on your behalf. I think sometime it happens if the database size is large.

    Kailash
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Agreed, if the database is large (> 5 MB), it can take a very long time to restore. I concur with this recommendation of contacting your hosting company.
     
  8. HNX

    HNX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    In Lindsay Lohan's Bedroom
    my file called backup.sql is 558MB .... and i am MY own hosting company Lol i mean i own servers so im hosting my forum on my own servers :) ok basically i tried loading everything but at a certain point it said "restoring Files" but NOTHING was happening, my internet even STOPPED working :s so i had to Reboot my PC ....

    Still Clueless on what to do to fix this :s,
    HNX
     
  9. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you own the server then it is easy to restore via SSH. Upload your backup.sql file outside public_html folder of your domain and then use following command in SSH to restore your database:

    mysql -umysqluser -p yourdbname < /home/user/backup.sql

    Make sure you replace mysqluser, yourdbname and location of your backup file.

    Kailash
     
  10. HNX

    HNX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    In Lindsay Lohan's Bedroom
    WTF :s! lol can u please speak to me in noob language?! SHH?? yourbname? :| i didnt understand a single thing! If ur asking if i have FTP accesss, then yes i DO!

    Regards,
    HNX
     
  11. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After reading your comments in this thread, I very strongly advise that you hire a management company. I don't care if it is my company or any of the many others out there but but I think you very much need some professional help!

    Just to recap the previous posts ...

    Kailash1 gave you the instructions on how to load your SQL file back into your database directly from the system shell which will probably only take a couple minutes and is very fast and most certainly won't take "days" to load like you were previously talking about trying to use the web interface, phpMyAdmin presumably.

    Everything Kailash1 said was all simply basic "beginner" terms as far as system administration goes but you openly come out and state that you don't understand anything they said while on the very same note earlier in the thread state that you "own your own server" and are "your own host".

    Managing your own servers without even the most basic server administration knowledge, let alone the skills you really need to be running your own servers, is EXTREMELY dangerous and very ill advised! Getting a server management contract will help fill in that gap and have someone to call on to handle technical issues managing the operation of your server(s).

    Back to the issue at hand ....

    Yes, you need to upload your SQL file up to your server by FTP if you have
    not already done so and store it anywhere on the server, really doesn't matter.

    After that, you login with SSH (Linux shell -- you really should know this!) and go to where you stored the SQL file you uploaded and then run the mysql command that Kailash1 told you and you should be able to get your database running in a matter of a few minutes.
     
Loading...

Share This Page