The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I just switched hosts, now what do I do?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wslines, Oct 24, 2004.

  1. wslines

    wslines Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for looking at this, I have been running a site from a host for the past 2 years, and jumped at the opportunity to change to this host. So now I still have the old host, but have no idea on what to do...in what order... to transfer my website over to this one. Would a kind soul please lead me step by step on how to change over.
    I run the site with FrontPage 2003, and ususlly just upload daily to my site, which is www.thelinesfamily.com. Where do I start?
    :eek:
    I have gathered by reading some threads I need to change my DNS servers, but dont know whay thet means. My old host gave me the DNS Primary Server name, as well as the secondary, and so did Ace-Net, but how do I change them so that the hosts switch, do I email my old host and tell them I have switched hosts?... and let them take care of it?
    I know I own the thelinesfamily.com, but dont know anything else. Like WHERE it is registered... Where do you go to find that out?
    Thanks for any and all help.
    -Spencer
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    To be honest, I would ask your new hosting provider this question since they are in the best place to guide you.
     
  3. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    True, your hosting provider should be letting you know that stuff. It almost sounds like you think cpanel is your host. Cpanel is just a control panel used by hosts. Some of the info you need can only be given to you by your new host.

    As far as looking up your domain name, any registrar has a whois lookup function, or you can use mine at:
    http://registration.premierwebsitesolutions.com/cgi-bin/whois.cgi
     
  4. wslines

    wslines Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I cannot log-in to cPanel

    Ok, yes, there was some misunderstanding about the control panel. I actually did think it was a part of my host. Now that that is taken care of, I have a new question.
    For the first two or three days I was able to log into the cPanel, and now when I try to log on, it wont even open a page for me to log-on to. I do not get anything like the secure log-on which askes me my username and password, or anything. I have disabled the windows XP SP2 firewall and even Norton when I try to log on, and still nothing. Has anyone ever had these problems?

    Thanks again chirpy, and squirrel for the replies. Please help.
     
  5. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    All of these questions are questions that you should address to your hosting provider. This forum is mainly for the software vendor that supplies the control panel and we have no ability to address your problems. Only your hosting company has access to the server on which you are hosted, so all questions you have should be directed to them first.
     
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Are the nameservers
    dns1.ourdnsinfo.com
    dns2.ourdnsinfo.com
    the ones for your old host or new host?

    My guess is the old host which would explain why you can't reach cpanel because your nameserver changes haven't propogated yet. You may be able to go to your cpanel by going to IPaddress/cpanel if you were given an IP address.

    If they are your new nameservers, it would appear your new host isn't using cpanel because none of these work.
    https://www.thelinesfamily.com:2083
    http://www.thelinesfamily.com:2082
    http://www.thelinesfamily.com/cpanel/

    Have you changed your nameservers to the new ones?
     
  7. wslines

    wslines Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cpanel log on...or lack thereof

    Squirrel~
    Thanks for looking. I have not changed my nameservers to the new ones, because I didn't want to have the site down while I made the transition. I guess I will do it anyway. Especially since I cant seem to log into my old site either. I feel like I am loosing control. My ISP confirmed they had reciently had some attacks on their routers and since had shut down most ports, unless specifically asked to open them back up. So there is possibly the reason why I cannot log-on to the cPanel, not like Marty suggested, that it was my new host, or in some way their responsibility. I just need to switch over the nameservers to the new ones and see what happens. Again thanks for all your help. I'll keep you posted.
    Marty~
    Where does it say this site is just for venders? I am a little ticked off you would just blow-me-off like you did. I HAVE directed all my questions to my host FIRST and was told the problem was in cPanel. Now I think I might see what the problem is, but seriously why have a support forum AND A NEW USER QUESTIONS, AS THIS STRING IS LISTED IN, AND NOT HAVE IT USED BY... new users? I can get to the website I have purchased, I was just not able to get into the cPanel after a week of being able to log into it. And that is what I needed.
     
  8. icanectc

    icanectc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well it is true this is a new user questions sub-forum however its creation was for new user questions to cpanel who are Web Admins - Like your host. Not a user of the host. It is truly useless to post in this forum if you are just a virtual hosting client who happens to use cpanel as you have no rights to the server at all. You have no root shell access. Or any managerial functions of the server. It is very hard to help out a person who doesn't directly control the server. Thats why your host new or old should assist you with the entire transition of moving. You should not be directed to a forum that is comprised of server OWNER's not users. In any event I hope your situation gets resolved either by the people on this forum helping you out the best they can or by your host. GL :)


    P.S Its almost like taking your car to a Nissan Dealership when you own a Ford... They will not be a big help.
     
  9. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It seems that wslines may be a victim of the "non" support hosts. You know the ones that can't/won't give support and just blame cpanel for all issues and tell the users to go here.

    wslines~
    Although people are more than willing to help there is only so much anyone other than your host can do. You need to push your host to fix the issues you are having as that is what you are paying for. It is their responsibility to fix their clients issues like this and not to tell them "go somewhere else to get support and find your own solution".
     
Loading...

Share This Page