The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I Just Want a Site

Discussion in 'cPanel Announcements' started by Infopro, Mar 26, 2016.

  1. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    From over on the cPanel Blog:

    For many end users, they simply want to get online. Installing and managing WordPress, Drupal, or other content management systems vastly over-serves this demographic. They have very simple needs. Why should fulfilling their needs include managing plugins, worrying about PHP dependencies, or sweating security vulnerabilities?

    That’s where the new Site Publisher feature in cPanel & WHM version 56 comes in.

    The Site Publisher feature provides a quick way to publish your first website. To use the Site Publisher interface, end users simply choose which domain they would like to publish to, which Site Template they’d like to publish, answer a few questions, and then hit publish. That’s it. No configurations, no installations, no set up tasks… Boom! Website.

    Read more: I just want a site | cPanel Blog
     
    #1 Infopro, Mar 26, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2016
  2. webhostuk

    webhostuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Fantastic.. a value added addon , much required sitebuilder in Cpanel.
     
  3. Ishware

    Ishware Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Panama City, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So will things like Wordpress and Drupal be possible? :)
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This feature is not intended for users that require robust content management solutions such as WordPress. You can still install WordPress separately as a cPAddon:

    How to Install WordPress With cPanel - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    Applications such as Drupal are installed manually or through third-party plugins such as Softaculous.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    They (Wordpress for example) will need to be installed into a directory, not public_html, IIRC. Site Publisher will write/overwrite files in public_html only.
     
  6. cPanelAdamF

    cPanelAdamF cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    It is possible to deploy dynamic sites (php, cgi, etc) with Site Publisher. You can literally put anything you want into a Site Template and Publisher will make it available for end-users to publish.
     
  7. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just want to say how exciting this is. Thanks so much.
     
  8. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Perfect for many clients - can it do mutliple pages though. All the examples are single pages...
    Love the fact that its html only - I get so many requests for simple html websites.
    Needs to be able to do multiple pages though. Looking at how its all configured that shouldn't be hard.
    Some page (content) centric variables and some common variables (menu).

    hint for Team Phoenix: the description field (in the cpanel examples) should use the html_para filter rather than the html filter - this would allow paragraphs (rather than one big lump of text).
     
    #8 rs-freddo, Apr 27, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2016
  9. cPanelAdamF

    cPanelAdamF cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Multiple webpages in the same website? Yes it can. Literally anything you put in a site template will be deployed. If you put more than one .html.tt file in the site template directory, it'll deploy it all.

    Multiple pages of form fields when you're on step 3 of the site publisher? no, currently we will show all of the questions the Site Template Designer needs to ask of the end-user all together on one page. Definitely something we can reconsider in the future based on adoption and feedback, though!

    ...and html_para, YES absolutely we can fix this. Thanks for the hint.
     
  10. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is the most exciting thing you guys have done in a very long time. It's pretty sweet. In regard to multiple pages - not needed because touch devices make scrolling so simple (small paginated sites are old hat). The single page at step 3 is important for simplicity - most clients would have difficulty with more than one page.

    I hope, on editing, only tt files are updated. This would make it easy for clients to change images and css to customise a website and the customisations wouldn't be lost on editing using Site Publisher. Yes advanced clients or web designers could customise.

    Maybe some variables that allow customization of step 3 (horizontal rule and comments):
    Horizontal Rule:
    {
    "id": "rule1",
    "label": "",
    "type": "horizontalrule",
    "placeholder": ""
    },
    Comment:
    {
    "id": "comment1",
    "label": "Optional Sections below",
    "type": "comment",
    "placeholder": "Filling out additional sections below here is optional"
    },

    I am really happy to see an alternative to wasteful one page wordpress (or any cms) sites.
    I am really excited to start adding my own templates and put site publisher through its paces! Thanks guys!!
     
  11. DarrynRedfox

    DarrynRedfox Registered

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Is it possible to allow clients to upload an image (logo) by using a file field type? I see there is a url field type but the target users will have trouble with using that.
     
  12. cPanelAdamF

    cPanelAdamF cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Not yet. This is coming soon.
     
  13. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    this system does work with php files.

    Very disappointing that on edit the image files are reinstalled - that DEFINITELY should not happen. Only .tt files should be reinstalled. Basically means that clients cannot change images. So the option to change a logo (via filemanager) is not available. All templates are 100% fixed. Would be great if cpanel could change the system so that on edit only files that CAN be changed are reinstalled (that means only .tt files).
     
  14. brooks

    brooks Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I couldn't agree more. I took a few hours to build a template and was disappointed that that images and css files are over written each time the site is updated and republished. Combined with an image manager that offered a few simple features, like resize, this could be a powerful and useful tool to a lot of people who are now (but shouldn't be) using WP. No one wants their site to look exactly like another. But with Site Publisher you don't have a choice.
     
  15. ehsan darbandi

    ehsan darbandi Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    iran
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    me2 , I couldn't agree more . I took a 5 hours to build a template and was disappointed that that images and css files are over written ...
     
Loading...

Share This Page