The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I know Frontpage is not supported, but is there any kind of Work around?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DWHS.net, Nov 8, 2014.

  1. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We still have a ton of customers that want Frontpage and several have left since CPanel has stopped using it.

    Is there anyway we can still have it on the server?

    Maybe an older version of Centos or a manual installation? Anyone experimenting with it?

    Thank you!
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    From the documentation:
    FrontPage FAQ - cPanel Documentation



     
  3. Eric

    Eric Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Howdy,

    Like PHP5.2, MySQL 4.1, and Apache1.3 you may need to setup a legacy system just for these older customers to work them off of Frontpage.

    If that's not possible find out what they're using FP for? If it's just a publishing method I recommend SSH|SFTP, WebDav or FTP. If they're using it on the website there are likely other issues like security you're going to need to tackle.

    Thanks!
     
  4. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We have a Apache 2.2, PHP 5.4, mysql 5.5 legacy server. Any idea if this might work?

    I have tried to convince the customers to use another way than FP but they will not listen. Reading the docs now for anything that might help.
     
  5. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  6. tank

    tank Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Make sure the front page extension is allowed in the customers package. So WHM->Packages -> (either in edit package or feature manager)
     
  7. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, that option in not in this server's CPanel. Is there a way to add it again?
     
  8. guldvog

    guldvog Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ozamiz City, Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have contacted my host, HostGator.com, and I am considering to *move away* from cPanel due to quitting of Microsoft FrontPage Extensions.

    I am NOT HAPPY with you! :mad:

    Regards,
    Jan Guldvog
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The option is removed completely in cPanel version 11.46. After you upgrade to a new major version of cPanel & WHM, you cannot downgrade to a previous major version of cPanel & WHM. As Eric suggested, it might be a good idea to engage your customers to see why exactly they are using FrontPage and to offer alternatives.

    Thank you.
     
  10. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Of course I have suggested to not use Frontpage lol These are customers paying huindreds of dollars a month and some have already left just because you don't want to run Frontpage, why not let your customers decide instead of your all might power?

    I think I have it working on a server but like CPanel said now I can't ever upgrade CPanel again.

    @guldvog if you need it, we have it on one server and do not plan on removing it but rather find a tweak in CPanel to keep it live and update CPanel.
     
  11. Serra

    Serra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Why? Because Frontpage is very dangerous, it is not PCI compliant and that is very important. Your customers should have moved off of Frontpage years ago. I can understand you want to support them, but this is not something you should even consider supporting. If you want to create a legacy system for them, that has FP support, then you'll need to stop doing updates. Eventually, the system will be so unstable and dangerous that it will collapse.

    Your clients should move to Microsoft Expression Web, which is basically Frontpage 2.0. That is a great alternative to FP and I think it is even free now.
     
  12. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    "Your clients should move to Microsoft Expression Web, which is basically Frontpage 2.0. That is a great alternative to FP and I think it is even free now."

    Does this require any extensions on the server?

    Never heard of it, thanks

    And I know FrontPage is not secure.
     
  13. PenguinInternet

    PenguinInternet Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Expression Web was the replacement for Frontpage. It requires no extensions on the server and can use FTP or WebDAV to upload: Download Microsoft Expression Web 4 (Free Version) from Official Microsoft Download Center

    To be honest, if customers are willing to pay hundreds of dollars a month to use hosting with Frontpage support and not prepared to move away from software that is at best 11 years old, stick them on a VPS where they cannot cause damage to anyone else when they are exploited.
     
  14. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    They are not 11 years old, they are people that like what they like. I'm sure you like some things are not safe, like drinking, fast food, who knows.

    Thanks for the information.
     
  15. PenguinInternet

    PenguinInternet Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    You may want to reread my reply - Frontpage 2003 was the last version released - that is 11 years old ;)

    The point is though, when running an application to suit a minatory of customers risks the security of a server or servers, I would be questioning your business model if you need to keep them on. Some of your customers may like what they like, but are you really prepared to risk the rest of your customers and potentially your business for them?
     
  16. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    my god, I'm in idiot. Thanks again.

    Your missing the point, they would not be my customer if they could not use Frontpage. There would be no business model or business for them. It's the last resort before they leave.
     
  17. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I get that Frontpage needs to be retired. It has been dead for 8 or 9 years now. If users that were dependent on Frontpage were not aware of this, then there is a fault some where in educating those users. Who is responsible for telling Frontpage users that the software they are using is discontinued? That's up for debate.

    However, I'm having a hard time understanding why upgrading to cPanel 11.46 is breaking Frontpage. mod_frontpage is an Apache module. What does that have to do with cPanel? I don't believe there is a mod_frontpage for Apache 2.4. Is the cPanel 11.46 upgrade forcing users to upgrade to Apache 2.4? If not, why not just install the mod_frontpage Apache module if you are using Apache 2.2?

    Don't get me wrong, I don't advise installing mod_frontpage and I believe it should have died off many years ago. I guess my question is, why does cPanel have to have such a firm grip on Apache and all of the other services installed on a web server?
     
  18. PenguinInternet

    PenguinInternet Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    I think the issue is the same as continuing to support any other outdated software - the more items and combinations of software that are in use, the more development and testing time that is required to ensure that there are no issues with the product. This in turn leads to either an increase in product cost, or a delay in development of the product when obsolete software combinations have to be tested.

    Aside from that, it's not exactly rocket science to exploit a site running Frontpage Extensions - there are a number of exploits in the wild for it now, but that is the risk that you take if you want to keep these customers happy and not push to move them onto something more secure and standard, which to be fair doesn't require much effort.
     
  19. StoneyCreeker

    StoneyCreeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Upper-East TN
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    "Dosen't require much effort" ???

    Easy for you to say I guess. Are you a website developer or just a server admin? ;)

    After starting with DOS 3 in 1986 and then running a wildcat dialup BBS until the internet came around and then writing my own HTML with a text editor and then using FP in various versions since 1998 and it doing what I need for mine and my friends personal websites why should I learn a whole new style of getting my content to the web in my mid 50's? (deep breath) I have better things to do than learn a whole new programming style. What are the specific areas of insecurity FP has? All my sites are information only and I do not sell anything or use any forms or active content. They are not commercial sites taking credit cards and displaying ads derived from stolen browser history. How do FP extensions threaten my VPS specifically? This kinda sounds too much like the millennium bug threat in 1999. It's probably about money somehow. LOL

    I think the powers that be just want to run us old timer hobbyists out of the woods so the new generation can take over. I don't need anything more than FP offers. Please help me understand why and maybe I can begin to try to conform to your demands. In the mean time I will not be upgrading my Cpanel and I guess when it "collapses" I will retire too. :)

    Thanks for listening!
     
    #19 StoneyCreeker, Dec 4, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2014
  20. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Retire? Bite your tongue. :eek: For your information, you and I have a lot in common age wise.

    Why did you stop using DOS 3 and that wildcat BBS and move to FrontPage? Sounds like "the powers that be" at FrontPage offered you a better way to do things, and you jumped. That time has come again. Actually, it came years ago and it sounds like, you ignored the call. That's ok, many did. The Frontpage Blockers have now been put in place to get the last of you "old timer hobbyists" off them. It's for the best.
    11.46 FrontPage® Update Blocker - cPanel Documentation

    There's really nothing new to learn here for you, you'll just need to edit your site in a different way going forward. Here's one of those ways:
    Web Disk - cPanel Documentation

    Have you got one of these fancy smancy mobile devices? You might like to know that you can edit your site using one of those these days now, too!

    cPanel Web Disk - iTunes
    cPanel Web Disk - Google Play

    Retire? NEVER! There's too many cool things to learn and take part in. Don't stop now, its just starting to get good.

    Security is very important. Ever have your site hacked, destroyed, needed to restore it from a backup? If yes, then your question is just plain silly.

    When you have time, spend it on google, asking your question there:
    what makes Frontpage insecure


    cPanel no longer supports FrontPage. They did for far too long after they shouldn't have been. And have now finally, taken steps to kill it outright, once and for all.

    From one old timer hobbyist to another, take a closer look. Grab a cup of coffee and do some reading. Times have never been better for gents like you and I.
     
Loading...

Share This Page