The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I messed up my server :(

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by WildWayz, Aug 14, 2001.

  1. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi all,

    I just got a new server and it had WHM/Cpanel on it. Trouble is, PHP wasn\'t working with it, so I had to recompile Apache and PHP so it would work.

    Now Exim, Interchange, MySQL are failing, and Apache is being reported as failing too, but it seems to be working ok.

    Is there anyway I can uninstall CPanel/WHM, php, apache, mysql and reinstall?
    I have got the cpanel.lisc file backed up.

    The webhosts wants $175 and hour to fix the problem, and I really don\'t wanna pay that unless I have to.

    Please advise :)

    James
     
  2. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is there anywhere to download CPanel again and install it?

    I noticed there is an uninstall script in the /usr/local/cpanel dir

    --James
     
  3. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:23f242c4ed]Is there anywhere to download CPanel again and install it?

    I noticed there is an uninstall script in the /usr/local/cpanel dir

    --James [/quote:23f242c4ed]


    Just grab buildapache.sea from layer1.cpanel.net, download it and run

    sh buildapache.sea

    restart apache and you should be ok
     
  4. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:53bd933603]Hi all,

    I just got a new server and it had WHM/Cpanel on it. Trouble is, PHP wasn\'t working with it, so I had to recompile Apache and PHP so it would work.

    Now Exim, Interchange, MySQL are failing, and Apache is being reported as failing too, but it seems to be working ok.

    Is there anyway I can uninstall CPanel/WHM, php, apache, mysql and reinstall?
    I have got the cpanel.lisc file backed up.

    The webhosts wants $175 and hour to fix the problem, and I really don\'t wanna pay that unless I have to.

    Please advise :)

    James [/quote:53bd933603]


    Also out of curiosity who charges $175/hr ?
     
  5. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    It was a special offer on Webhostingtalk.com from a company called serverhost.com.

    Thanks for the help - I am getting that file now :)

    Also, does this compile the latest PHP in with it too? If not do you have some working instructions how to upgrade it so it works with CPanel?

    --James
     
  6. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi again

    I installed cplyr1-6.2+7.1-DarkORB-08.07.2001 before I got your fix, and apache loads fine but I cannot get port 2082 or 2086 to work. It gives a Page Cannot Be Displayed error.

    Any ideas?

    --James
     
  7. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Me again :)

    I installed the Latest Layer 1 software + the latest build of Layer 2 software.

    All is working but...

    PHP still isn\'t compiled with Apache so php files are being downloaded as opposed to being parsed.

    Also, Interchange is now refusing to load start.
    Can I kill Interchange or fix it?

    Any ideas how to get PHP with Mod_gzip etc installed?

    --James
     
  8. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When installing that apachebuild.sea script I get this error then it fails...


    make[3]: Entering directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/ftp\'
    make[4]: Entering directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/ftp\'
    make[4]: Nothing to be done for `install-p\'.
    make[4]: Leaving directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/ftp\'
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/ftp\'
    Making install in gd
    make[3]: Entering directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/gd\'
    make[4]: Entering directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/gd\'
    gcc -I. -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/gd -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/main -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6 -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/Zend -I/usr/include/freetype -I/tmp/selfgz13523/gd-1.8.4 -I/tmp/selfgz13523/imap-2001.BETA.SNAP-0105220031/c-client -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/mysql/libmysql -I/usr/local/flash/include -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/xml/expat/xmltok -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/xml/expat/xmlparse -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/TSRM -DSUPPORT_UTF8 -DXML_BYTE_ORDER=12 -g -O2 -c gd.c && touch gd.lo
    gd.c: In function `php_minit_gd\':
    gd.c:296: `gdPie\' undeclared (first use in this function)
    gd.c:296: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
    gd.c:296: for each function it appears in.)
    gd.c:297: `gdChord\' undeclared (first use in this function)
    gd.c:298: `gdNoFill\' undeclared (first use in this function)
    gd.c:299: `gdEdged\' undeclared (first use in this function)
    gd.c: In function `php_if_imagecreatetruecolor\':
    gd.c:577: warning: assignment makes pointer from integer without a cast
    make[4]: *** [gd.lo] Error 1
    make[4]: Leaving directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/gd\'
    make[3]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/gd\'
    make[2]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext\'
    make[1]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6\'

    Any ideas?

    --James
     
  9. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    Run /scripts/sysup

    [quote:e9e5e629f7]When installing that apachebuild.sea script I get this error then it fails...


    make[3]: Entering directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/ftp\'
    make[4]: Entering directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/ftp\'
    make[4]: Nothing to be done for `install-p\'.
    make[4]: Leaving directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/ftp\'
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/ftp\'
    Making install in gd
    make[3]: Entering directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/gd\'
    make[4]: Entering directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/gd\'
    gcc -I. -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/gd -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/main -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6 -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/Zend -I/usr/include/freetype -I/tmp/selfgz13523/gd-1.8.4 -I/tmp/selfgz13523/imap-2001.BETA.SNAP-0105220031/c-client -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/mysql/libmysql -I/usr/local/flash/include -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/xml/expat/xmltok -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/xml/expat/xmlparse -I/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/TSRM -DSUPPORT_UTF8 -DXML_BYTE_ORDER=12 -g -O2 -c gd.c && touch gd.lo
    gd.c: In function `php_minit_gd\':
    gd.c:296: `gdPie\' undeclared (first use in this function)
    gd.c:296: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
    gd.c:296: for each function it appears in.)
    gd.c:297: `gdChord\' undeclared (first use in this function)
    gd.c:298: `gdNoFill\' undeclared (first use in this function)
    gd.c:299: `gdEdged\' undeclared (first use in this function)
    gd.c: In function `php_if_imagecreatetruecolor\':
    gd.c:577: warning: assignment makes pointer from integer without a cast
    make[4]: *** [gd.lo] Error 1
    make[4]: Leaving directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/gd\'
    make[3]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext/gd\'
    make[2]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6/ext\'
    make[1]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/tmp/selfgz13523/php-4.0.6\'

    Any ideas?

    --James [/quote:e9e5e629f7]
     
  10. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    root@insomnia [/scripts]# ./sysup
    openssl is up to date
    openssl-devel is up to date
    gnupg is up to date
    qpopper is up to date
    exim is up to date
    proftpd is up to date
    bandmin is up to date
    chkservd is up to date
    openssh is up to date
    openssh-server is up to date
    openssh-clients is up to date
    MySQL is up to date
    MySQL-client is up to date
    MySQL-devel is up to date
    MySQL-bench is up to date
    MySQL-shared is up to date
    gd is up to date
    gd-devel is up to date
    gd-progs is up to date
    pine is up to date
    wget is up to date
    portsentry is up to date
    logcheck is up to date
    Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
    package openssl095a-0.9.5a-1 is already installed
    expect is up to date
    XFree86-libs is up to date
    XFree86-devel is up to date
    bind is up to date
    bind-devel is up to date

    Hmmm seems up to date :/

    --James
     
  11. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    WHM/Cpanel is working as it was before now - so that is good, but PHP still isn\'t working.

    I will make a separate thread about that tho :)

    Thanks

    --James
     
  12. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    http://support.cpanel.net/new/viewthread.php?tid=101

    Thats the URL link of my PHP problem :/

    Thanks

    James
     
  13. feldon27

    feldon27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I learned the hard way that cPanel = No User Servicable Parts Inside

    I added 3 lines to my Apache httpd.conf and it broke everything.

    cPanel could be SO much better.
     
  14. Johnnie Nelke

    Johnnie Nelke Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    really not sure if this will help but ...... /scripts/easyapache will install PHP again....... and everything. Choose option 4 and it will install mcrypt and GD support as well. I hope this might help you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page