The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I need GD 2.0 and GZIP...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by N9ne, Apr 16, 2003.

  1. N9ne

    N9ne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    England
    I have the absolute latest versions of cPanel and WHM.

    However, GZIP and GD are just not there, in phpinfo ;).

    I know where to find the .sea file for mod_gzip, and I can download the file, yes, but that's where my knowledge ends.

    Please can someone tell me, as a dummies guide, exactly how to install mod_gzip, and GD 2.0...? Remember that I'm clueless, I know how to SSH into my server, and that's all lol.

    I'm sure there's many others in my situation, so maybe replies to this thread could benefit them too :).

    Thanks in advance for any help!
     
  2. NeutralGold

    NeutralGold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    From root
    #scripts/easyapache
    choose option 4 or 5
    I would choose 5 considering some things need mcrypt support.
     
  3. N9ne

    N9ne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    England
    Ok GD part done, but GZIP is still not listed in phpinfo...
     
  4. NeutralGold

    NeutralGold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, I actually don't know the answer to the gzip function as its allready enabled on our servers and allways has been. I don't understand why its not on yours. Anything setup differently on yours than it would be for the rest of us? Maybe someone else can give you a hand on this and you should most definatly try searching for your answers as the gd support is answered several times on this forum.
     
  5. N9ne

    N9ne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    England
    There's nothing special about my server at all. One thing I know is in layer 1 I believe, there's a mod_gzip file, which is the installer, could anyone give me instructions on how to use this file to install mod_gzip?
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    mod_gzip is not part of default setup. To install do the following

    In SSH

    wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/mod_gzip-autoinstall.sea

    sh mod_gzip-autoinstall.sea

    and follow the instructions at the end it will ask you to make some changes to your httpd.conf.

    That's about all.

    Some where on this forum is also a link to goto to check that gzip is working fine. Just do a search for gzip to find it.
     
  7. NeutralGold

    NeutralGold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How come its allways been on my server and I know I havn't installed it. The site your also refering to shows that it is enabled.
     
  8. N9ne

    N9ne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    England
    Right, well i'm ready to give up on gzip and just use up more bandwidth and screw compression. I followed instructions posted above to install mod_gzip, seemed it had worked. Here's an extract from httpd.conf too, to show I also did put the code in there:

    Code:
    #
    # Dynamic Shared Object (DSO) Support
    #
    # To be able to use the functionality of a module which was built as a DSO you
    # have to place corresponding `LoadModule' lines at this location so the
    # directives contained in it are actually available _before_ they are used.
    # Please read the file [url]http://httpd.apache.org/docs/dso.html[/url] for more
    # details about the DSO mechanism and run `httpd -l' for the list of already
    # built-in (statically linked and thus always available) modules in your httpd
    # binary.
    #
    # Note: The order in which modules are loaded is important.  Don't change
    # the order below without expert advice.
    #
    # Example:
    # LoadModule foo_module libexec/mod_foo.so
    LoadModule rewrite_module     libexec/mod_rewrite.so
    LoadModule php4_module        libexec/libphp4.so
    LoadModule bwlimited_module   libexec/mod_bwlimited.so
    LoadModule bytes_log_module   libexec/mod_log_bytes.so
    #LoadModule gzip_module        libexec/mod_gzip.so
    
    #  Reconstruction of the complete module list from all available modules
    #  (static and shared ones) to achieve correct module execution order.
    #  [WHENEVER YOU CHANGE THE LOADMODULE SECTION ABOVE UPDATE THIS, TOO]
    ClearModuleList
    AddModule mod_env.c
    AddModule mod_log_config.c
    AddModule mod_mime.c
    AddModule mod_negotiation.c
    AddModule mod_status.c
    AddModule mod_include.c
    AddModule mod_autoindex.c
    AddModule mod_dir.c
    AddModule mod_cgi.c
    AddModule mod_asis.c
    AddModule mod_imap.c
    AddModule mod_actions.c
    AddModule mod_userdir.c
    AddModule mod_alias.c
    AddModule mod_rewrite.c
    AddModule mod_access.c
    AddModule mod_auth.c
    AddModule mod_so.c
    AddModule mod_setenvif.c
    <IfDefine SSL>
    AddModule mod_ssl.c
    </IfDefine>
    AddModule mod_frontpage.c
    AddModule mod_php4.c
    AddModule mod_bwlimited.c
    AddModule mod_log_bytes.c
    #AddModule mod_gzip.c
    
    <IfModule mod_gzip.c>
    mod_gzip_on yes
    mod_gzip_dechunk yes
    mod_gzip_keep_workfiles No
    mod_gzip_temp_dir /tmp
    mod_gzip_minimum_file_size 1002
    mod_gzip_maximum_file_size 0
    mod_gzip_maximum_inmem_size 1000000
    
    mod_gzip_item_include file \.htm$
    mod_gzip_item_include file \.html$
    mod_gzip_item_include mime text/.*
    mod_gzip_item_include file \.php$
    mod_gzip_item_include mime jserv-servlet
    mod_gzip_item_include handler jserv-servlet
    mod_gzip_item_include mime application/x-httpd-php.*
    mod_gzip_item_include mime httpd/unix-directory
    
    mod_gzip_item_exclude file .css
    mod_gzip_item_exclude file .js
    mod_gzip_item_exclude file .wml
    
    </IfModule>
    
    #
    # ExtendedStatus controls whether Apache will generate "full" status
    # information (ExtendedStatus On) or just basic information (ExtendedStatus
    # Off) when the "server-status" handler is called. The default is Off.
    #
    #ExtendedStatus On
    
    ### Section 2: 'Main' server configuration
    

    Leknor says my pages aren't gzipped. Gzip or mod_gzip shows up no where in phpinfo.

    Should I give up?
     
  9. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You need to uncomment these two.

    #LoadModule gzip_module libexec/mod_gzip.so

    #AddModule mod_gzip.c
     
  10. rnh

    rnh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    and don't forget to restart apache afterwards
     
  11. N9ne

    N9ne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    England
    Those did the trick, thanks a lot :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page