Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

I need Help With HUGE website

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ht-Q8.CoM, Aug 18, 2007.

  1. Ht-Q8.CoM

    Ht-Q8.CoM Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello

    i have a server with 6 TB of hard drives


    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sdb5 9.9G 346M 9.1G 4% /
    /dev/sdb1 99M 21M 73M 23% /boot
    none 4.0G 0 4.0G 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/sdb7 885G 839G 656M 100% /home
    /dev/sdb8 1012M 111M 850M 12% /tmp
    /dev/sdb3 9.9G 2.6G 6.9G 28% /usr
    /dev/sdb2 9.9G 287M 9.1G 3% /var
    /dev/sdb1 99M 21M 73M 23% /disk1
    /tmp 1012M 111M 850M 12% /var/tmp
    /dev/sdc1 917G 109M 871G 1% /home2
    /dev/sdd1 917G 109M 871G 1% /home3
    /dev/sde1 917G 109M 871G 1% /home4
    /dev/sdf1 917G 109M 871G 1% /home5
    /dev/sdg1 917G 109M 871G 1% /home6




    now as you can see i have 6 * /home each almost 871 GB Free space

    now the /home is full

    what i want to do is to allow the website i have to use /home2 /home3 etc ...
    i am only hosting 1 website on the server .
    is there a option that i can give that website access to use the /home /home2 /home3 /home4 /home5 /home6 ?

    i guess maybe there is a tweak or option or an manually edit to httpd.conf can solve my issue .
    Thanks In Advanced
     
  2. koolcards

    koolcards Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Tampa, Fl
    Use symbolic links from files/directories under your existing web site to the new home2 through home6 partitions

    ln -s myfunnydirectoryname home2

    and so on

    any URL such as:
    "http://YourSite.com/myfunnydirectoryname/index.html"

    will get the 'index.html' under the home2 partition.

    And any URL like :
    "http://YourSite.com/myfunnydirectoryname/1stsubdirectory/2ndsubdirectory/index.html"

    will get '/home2/1stsubdirectory/2ndsubdirectory/index.html'
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Ht-Q8.CoM

    Ht-Q8.CoM Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello
    Thanks for replay
    what i did understand is these



    if i have /home/admin/public_html/folder1
    so i should go to that directory
    and use these command

    ln -s folder1 home2
    and that command will cut all the data under (folder1) and move them to /home2

    and the public URL will stay the same like
    www.sitename.com/folder1

    without a change with the Link in the URL .


    is that right ?
    and really thanks for your help

    Regards
     
  4. WebScHoLaR

    WebScHoLaR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Not really. What you need to do is first move the folder1 to /home2 and then symlink it. e.g:

    In this way /home/admin/public_html/folder1 will become a symbolic link that will be pointing to /home2/folder1.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. approx

    approx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice