The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I need someone help!!!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by moalbert, Nov 22, 2002.

  1. moalbert

    moalbert Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I attemp to restart bind server in WHM, The following message will be display:
    rndc: connect failed: connection refused

    How to solve this problems!!!!
    Thanks,
    regard,
    Moalbert
     
  2. moalbert

    moalbert Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am not sure. Can you give me a solution for solving this problem?
     
  3. moalbert

    moalbert Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I remove the Master DNS Server in WHM, but the problem is still occur, help me!!!Thanks!!!
    Moalbert
     
  4. rahnuma

    rahnuma Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    rndc connect problem

    Hi...
    I faced the same problem and after reading all of Cpanel forums I found no answer then I went to BIND documentations and read about the rndc. Problem lies with the latest BIND release 9 and its restart menthod that uses keys and controls. See wat I did..

    #cat /etc/rndc.conf

    -- then I copied the lines starting with ---

    key &rndckey& {
    algorithm &hmac-md5&;
    secret &xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx&; &-- a secret key
    };


    I pasted the above line in /etc/named.conf just below the &controls& line.

    I restarted my server and every thing started running fine without any error :)

    I hope it will help....

    regards...
     
  5. FusionBiz

    FusionBiz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    try this /scripts/fixndc

    as I'm having the same problem and I search the forum and find this and it resolved my problem ... hope also can resolve your :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Usually the rndc problem lies when you are using bind version 9, but your server thinks it is using bind version 8. Change the version number in WHM, under EDIT SETUP, and then restart bind. Afterwards, run /scripts/fixndc and run that script TWICE. That should work.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What else could cause this error besides the key? I have tried to add it and re-add it but the error still remains.

    I don't have a master slave set up and never have.

    I just moved several accounts to the server and it started from that.

    Thanks,.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. efeito

    efeito Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    .pt
    I have the same error, and i found that was a mistake in one file.

    1) Edit /etc/named.conf
    2) search "rndckey" (without quotes) and change it to "rndc-key" (without quotes again).
    3) restart BIND - /etc/init.d/named restart

    It works for me! Let me know if it helps you

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks efaito I will try it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I had a similar problem, and I just deleted my named.conf and rebuilt it with the /scripts/rebuildnamedconf. You can also try doing the fixrndckey script also.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have the same error, and i found that was a mistake in one file.

    1) Edit /etc/named.conf
    2) search "rndckey" (without quotes) and change it to "rndc-key" (without quotes again).
    3) restart BIND - /etc/init.d/named restart


    Removing - was the solution for me a my master server (still) uses redhat 7.1

    John

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. testudo

    testudo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Read your log file!

    /var/log/messages will contain the error messages from bind when it fails to restart. It will even report the line numbers in /etc/named.conf it's having problems with so all you have to do is fix the line(s) in question. In my case, it was a matter of improperly placed comment tags (#) in named.conf. Simply correcting those did the trick.

    (I have a master/slave setup, so my error may have been caused by a dns transfer.)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. drackox

    drackox Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dallas
    If you are using redhat or fedora... do this...

    pico /etc/named.conf
    Near the top of that file are 2 entries that say rndc-key or rndckey
    remove the "-" from the rndc-key

    then:

    then run /scripts/fixndc
    do that twice... the first time will error out the second time will be fine.


    Then:

    pico /etc/sysconfig/named
    comment out the 'rootdir='
    just put a # in front of it..


    This will fix all the BIND issues and RNDC issues in WHM and Cpanel so you dont get that rndc error and if you had that annoying popup missing a entry thing, then it will fix it to... :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page