The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I opened a ticket for the Bandwidth problem with resellers....

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mpierre, Jul 29, 2003.

  1. mpierre

    mpierre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have had YET ANOTHER client of a reseller who got suspended, and since I do not give the limit bandwidth right of resellers, there is NO way the client can unsuspend the user, since Upgrade/Downgrade doesn't change the bandwidth !

    ------------------------------------------------------------------
    TICKET CONTENT
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
    When a client is suspended for excees bandwidth, the only way to unsuspend him is by "limit bandwidth usage".

    If I upgrade it to a plan with more bandwidth, it doesn't become unsuspended !!!

    And using "Suspend/Unsuspend account" doesn't work either.

    I have root access, so it doesn't bother me, but since I do not give the "limit bandwidth usage" to my resellers in order to prevent them from circumventing their bandwidth allocation it means my resellers cannot unsuspend their accounts !

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 19535
     
  2. s3kk3y

    s3kk3y Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    this has been a problem for me as well.

    For some reason, my resellers do not act on the bandwidth warning emails, and will only tak action when the site has gone over the bandwidth.

    Now, when they upgrade/downgrade the account to a package that has more bandwidth, it does not automatically un-suspend the account right away. It will eventually when the disk quotas are ran but that could be hours away. The only way is for me to click on "unsuspend bandwidth exceeders" from the root WHM.

    SHouldnt cpanel unsuspend the account as soon as the package changes?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. cass

    cass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Argentina/USA/Mexico
    SAME PROBLEM HERE !!!

    Damn... My resellers can't wait to me to do "Unsuspend All Bandwidth Exeders" ....

    There is ANY WAY a reseller can unsuspend their sites ?

    The suspend/unsuspend link DOES NOTHING.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    do the limit bandwidth and change the number to a higher number, or do the "reset quotas to package bandwidth" option is whm.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. s3kk3y

    s3kk3y Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    But that still needs our (root owner) intervention.

    What we want is something that will automatically unsuspend the reseller clients site when the reseller up's the bandwidth.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You need to tell it to unsuspend after wards, other wise it will wait until it refreshes (i think it does it twice a day), or wait till next month :) You are better off spending the 15 seconds and doing it right away.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. PbG

    PbG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Remember there is generally a 15 min delay before Cp udates quotas unless you have Disabled Disk Quota display caching in the "Tweak Settings".

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. s3kk3y

    s3kk3y Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    B12Org, I think you are missing the point.

    We know how to unsuspend the site from the root's WHM, but resellers cannot. Even if they bump up the bandwidth limit for an account that exceeded its bandwidth, it is still suspended. This is what needs to be changed.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. s3kk3y

    s3kk3y Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Does the disk quota cache also apply to bandwidth quota caching?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It will auto refresh, if you read what I said earlier, it auto refreshes twice a day. You can either wait for it to do it, or you can take the 15 seconds it takes to do the script and do it right then and there. The choice is yours.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you take the time to read what every one is saying yes they know it will auto refresh if you wait and if you have root you can run the script right away. BUT resellers cannot run the script so they have to open a trouble ticket to get us to unsuspend their accounts.

    That is the point of this thread is give the resellers a way to unsuspend the accounts themselves and save us the flood of tickets at the end of each month.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. mrmax

    mrmax Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    reseller asks

    Is there a way from shell for a reseller to release the suspended account.

    I am waiting on my host tech to unsuspend the account,
    I can't.

    My client didn't go over bandwidth either, I set the pkg up incorectly.
    I tried a pkg upgrade that didn't work.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. digitalSite

    digitalSite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    SAME PROBLEM HERE!!!

    This is ridiculous! Also, My reseller said that he is not receiving the warning bandwidth emails :eek:

    What do I have to check or what do I have to do to make sure he receives them for his clients' accounts :confused:

    ANY help is greatly appreciated!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, I do not believe there is a way to get arround that unless you give the reseller "all features". And that could be very dangerous.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. butch

    butch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Argh!

    This has been a problem for a long time now.

    All cpanel has to do is put in a bandwidth check into the upgrade/downgrade script. If the new BW limit is above the BW used, then it should invoke the "unsuspended bandwidth exceeders" script. If not, then it does not have to do anything.
     
  16. dukerdog

    dukerdog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just had this happen to me today from a reseller. It's REDICULOUS that it happens. Please fix this cPanel!!!
     
  17. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I took the time to read it. Your next question should be do I care if resellers cant? I am glad that they can not first of all, because then they can not circumvent anything that is already in place, and anything that happens, I get to know about, instead of them "going arround me" to solve the problem.

    Plus, if its every month, they should either expect it, or upgrade their accounts to have more bandwidth. Its that easy. Once I can understand. If you are experiencing a flood, then I suggest changing your plans, or upgrade some of your clients.

    This isnt a problem with cpanel, its doing exactly what its supposed to do, and I for one am very glad that it is. I would not want resellers to have that ability.
     
  18. mpierre

    mpierre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You completly missed the point !!!

    The problem is that even when a reseller upgrades an account, the account remains suspended until after the next bandwidth check !!!

    Let's say a reseller has 10 GB of bandwidth to allocate, and has 4 client with 1 GB each.

    once of them busts, so he upgrades him to a 2 GB plan.

    The client will remain suspended until the next time the bandwidth will be checked, up to 24 hours later !

    If we, as root, then go edit the limit bandwidth, and put the SAME limit ( 2 GB ) as the reseller had put, the client will unsuspend imediatly !
     
  19. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In all reality I have never had it take more than at most 6 hours.

    You could easily overcome that by scheduling the unsuspend script to run by a cron once per hour or half hour or something.

    There are ways arround it, stop complaining.
     
  20. butch

    butch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Your reseller did not mind that one of his accounts was suspended for 6 hours?

    You must have a really forgiving reseller.

    This still needs to be fixed. As I wrote earlier in this post, this is all that needs to be done by CPANEL:

    All cpanel has to do is put in a bandwidth check into the upgrade/downgrade script. If the new BW limit is above the BW used, then it should invoke the "unsuspended bandwidth exceeders" script. If not, then it does not have to do anything.
     
Loading...

Share This Page