The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I want to upload a coplete backup to my new hosting provider

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kostmout, Dec 7, 2012.

  1. kostmout

    kostmout Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello all,

    not sure if I missed this issue but some searching didn't bring up something relevant.

    I am a self taught artisan and decided to move my sites (4) at a new hosting place. I have been planning this for a while so I took the time to take full backups via Cpanel.

    My problem is that trying to upload the backup on the new account I created via WHM doesn't seem to work. Besides I don't really understand if besides managing to restore the backups are there other actions to perform as to ensure that sites will be up and running and mail also.

    Thanks for your patience with a newbie.

    Regards


    Kosta
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You'd do best to upload it to the server and move it, or have your Hosting Provider move it to the proper location and restore it via WHM:
    Restore a Full Backup/cpmove File - cPanel Documentation

    You'll probably need to recreate the package that the account was on previously as well. Or, upgrade/downgrade him to a new plan that exists on the server.
     
  3. kostmout

    kostmout Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks infopro!

    My provider has already suggested to do it but I am interested into learning a bit more of this art thus trying to do it myself. My problem is that I do not understand what files to move and how to treat the tar file inside the created backup folder. Documentation is not very explicit either for my level.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What that means is, the complete backup, or cpmove file. No manual extraction or intervention is required.

    Just place it in the home directory.

    Navigate to:
    Home >> Backup >> Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file

    You'll see the file name there under this section;
    If that file is named johnsmith.tar.gz then, at top of this page where it says:
    You'd type in johnsmith

    And then hit the Action button, Restore. Then wait.

    When it completes, go here:
    Home » Account Information » List Accounts

    Check that the proper user owns the account, root, or your Reseller.

    Çheck that it has the proper Package.

    If the domain has already been pointed to the server in advance, and had time to propagate, by the time you do all of that, this will work:

    thatdomain.com


    HTH!
     
  5. kostmout

    kostmout Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks a lot. Now it is clear. Without this I would have spent a few years to figure out ;-)
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You're welcome. Happy to help.
     
Loading...

Share This Page