If .htaccess deletes -> all Subdomain redirects will be automaticly deleted

musti19

Well-Known Member
Jan 20, 2013
111
1
18
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
If .htaccess deleted -> all Subdomain redirects will be automaticly deleted

Hello,
I have found today, that all Subdomain-redirects are only stored in .htaccess file in ftp-folder.
So if the the .htacess File is deleted by mistake (e.g.: New Installation or updating of wordpress etc.)
then is all subdomains redirects deleted..

A "bad" example: You setup a subdomain to external website, where the url is long.
So a unknown people find a way to manipulate the htacess file and redirects
to phishing website. You dont attention to the URL and your entered datas
are stolen!

I think this a bad idea and second can be a security issue..
 
Last edited:

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,203
363
Hello :)

It's by design that the .htaccess file is used for redirects. This file is only accessible by users with access to the directory it's stored in. Feel free to open a feature request if you feel an alternate method for redirects should be used:

Submit A Feature Request

Thank you.