The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

If user created by root, login loop

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by twistedgamer, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. twistedgamer

    twistedgamer Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If I create a new user via root the user can not login.

    I don't need a reseller as I'm the only user on the box.

    So far the only way I can create the user and actually access it is if I make a fake Reseller.

    Is this intended behavior? I've tried searching but didn't come up with similar issue.

    Tyson
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How are you creating the user when logged in as root? Is it by logging into WHM and under Account Functions using the Create a New Account feature?
     
  3. twistedgamer

    twistedgamer Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes from with in WHM > Account Functions > Create new Account

    I'm trying to migrate my site from a shared host using cPanel to a Small dedicated machine.
     
  4. lngtanseco

    lngtanseco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You may want create a full backup first, then upload to your new machine. Then, install the account from backup.

    The backup can be uploaded to /home directory then install from backup here:

    WHM >> Backup >> Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This answer may not match your condition. During development of cPanel 11.24, we identified a race condition during account creation that would result in the account being properly created, but unable to login to cPanel (similar to what you described). This particular condition is resolved in cPanel 11.24.

    To determine whether your condition is the same is to change the password of the new account. If after the password change the account is able to login, then most likely your server is experiencing this race condition.
     
Loading...

Share This Page