The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm missing something kinda basic here...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ta2025, Oct 30, 2004.

  1. ta2025

    ta2025 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm missing something kinda basic here...

    If I have created a domain (In this case, "cyphereal.net"), is it possible to setup webspace accounts under cyphereal.net that are NOT domains?

    Can I setup "joe.cyphereal.net" (like geocities) and assign 1o MB of webspace that this user can manage on his own?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    There are two ways you can do this. You can setup a subdomain within cPanel of the main account and then create an FTP account with the same name and you'll then be able to give that access to the user. However, this way you cannot allocate specific quotas to the subdomain, either disk space or bandwidth.

    If you want to do the latter, then you would need to create separate full cPanel accounts for each subdomain.

    That's the cPanel solutions. If you want something like Geocities, then there are a few products about that can give you that type of setup, such as the one I develop for at:
    http://www.webumake.com/wweb/
     
  3. ta2025

    ta2025 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    does it work within cpanel?

    One system is confusing enough!
     
  4. ta2025

    ta2025 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Can you create full cpanel account without assigning a domain?
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That final idea is a standalone product.

    You need to assign a domain for a full cPanel account, but that domain can be a subdomain.
     
Loading...

Share This Page