The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

im new at whm so please help setting up nameservers

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Caos, Jan 29, 2010.

  1. Caos

    Caos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i need help in setting up my nameservers i did the godaddy part now in whm i put the name servers and the Ips and then i make a cpanel and i change the domain to my nameservers for some reason its not connectting..

    may i ask for someones help :(
     
  2. furquan

    furquan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What IP's did you give at Godaddy, & are those ips binded on your server ?

    Is this domain of yours added to WHM ?

    Are you the server owner, If yes then go to WHM > DNS function > Edit DNS zone. Then select the domain for which you want to set up the name server.
     
  3. Caos

    Caos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    reply

    Nameserver Nameserver IP
    ns1.nextgenscene.com NA

    Nameserver Nameserver IP
    ns2.nextgenscene.com NA

    i put an IP in and it will stay like that what am i doing wrong this is very confusing i had this server for for about 6-7 days and hadnt been able to use it i cant get a straight answer on how to get my name servers to work or connect in godaddy i have this

    Host Summary (add)
    NS1 delete edit
    NS2 delete edit
    1 to 2 of 2

    on ns1 i have the ipaddress 188.72.215.215
    on ns2 i have the ipaddress 188.72.215.216

    ok now in whm under Basic cPanel/WHM Setup

    Nameserver 1: ns1.nextgenscene.com
    Nameserver 2: ns2.nextgenscene.com
    i cant assign an Ip it just sits there
    i tried adding it threw Dns zone says its there

    i create a cPanel for my domain bugabuddy.net
    i point my name servers to ns1.nextgenscene.com and ns2.nextgenscene.com
    i put in the ipaddress i assigned for bugabuddy.net and it shows.

    Now what am I doing wrong i waited a long time for it to update its still not connecting...why?
     
  4. Caos

    Caos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i dont no what im doing wrong now =/
     
  5. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    It looks like you have it setup correctly; I'm able to access the domain without issue at this time. Please ensure to allow up to 24 hours for DNS propagation when making DNS changes.

    Results of testing:
    Code:
    # host -t a www.bugabuddy.net
    www.bugabuddy.net is an alias for bugabuddy.net.
    bugabuddy.net has address 188.72.215.147
    
    # lwp-request -mHEAD http://www.bugabuddy.net/
    200 OK
    Connection: close
    Date: Tue, 02 Feb 2010 01:28:25 GMT
    Server: Apache/2.0.63 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.0.63 OpenSSL/0.9.8e-fips-rhel5 mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635
    Content-Type: text/html;charset=ISO-8859-1
    Client-Date: Tue, 02 Feb 2010 01:28:25 GMT
    Client-Peer: 188.72.215.147:80
    Client-Response-Num: 1
    
    # dig @188.72.215.215 +nocmd bugabuddy.net
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 16788
    ;; flags: qr aa rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;bugabuddy.net.			IN	A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    bugabuddy.net.		14400	IN	A	188.72.215.147
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    bugabuddy.net.		86400	IN	NS	ns2.nextgenscene.com.
    bugabuddy.net.		86400	IN	NS	ns1.nextgenscene.com.
    
    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    ns1.nextgenscene.com.	14400	IN	A	188.72.215.215
    ns2.nextgenscene.com.	14400	IN	A	188.72.215.216
    
    ;; Query time: 125 msec
    ;; SERVER: 188.72.215.215#53(188.72.215.215)
    ;; WHEN: Mon Feb  1 19:40:16 2010
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 131
    Additional resources:
    InterNIC Whois Search Results | Nameserver: ns1.nextgenscene.com
    InterNIC Whois Search Results | Nameserver: ns2.nextgenscene.com
     
    #5 cPanelDon, Feb 1, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2010
  6. Caos

    Caos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    so all it needed was to update?
     
  7. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Assuming the configuration is correct it is possible that the only action necessary is to wait for DNS propagation.

    Are you able to access the domain "bugabuddy.net" at this time?
     
  8. Caos

    Caos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes but for some reason when i look its host it says this

    Bugabuddy.net is hosted by: Xp.cx

    ▷▷ Find out who hosts Bugabuddy.net

    but im the host but its weird because i can access cPanel and whm to but i dont undersatnd the xp.cx
     
  9. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    The only reference to that domain I find is via the reverse DNS (PTR) record of the IP address where the domain name points to:
    Code:
    # dig +nocmd -x 188.72.215.147
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 26168
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;147.215.72.188.in-addr.arpa.	IN	PTR
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    147.215.72.188.in-addr.arpa. 86360 IN	PTR	ssl.secure.xp.cx.
    
    ;; Query time: 13 msec
    ;; SERVER: 8.8.8.8#53(8.8.8.8)
    ;; WHEN: Mon Feb  1 21:05:07 2010
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 75
    Changing the reverse DNS (PTR) record should be escalated to your upstream data center or hosting service vendor as they would have access to modify it if needed.
     
  10. Caos

    Caos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    What do you mean by that little bit more detail please
     
  11. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Not all data centers delegate authority to the dedicated server owner for changing reverse DNS (PTR) records; thus, it may be necessary to escalate the issue by contacting the data center or hosting service vendor that provides the server as they would control the IP addresses assigned and the reverse DNS (PTR) records for each IP address.
     
  12. Caos

    Caos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    so my host needs to fix it?
     
  13. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    I believe that is a reasonable conclusion given the circumstances involved.
     
  14. Caos

    Caos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok
    i will contact them but what exactly do i need to tell them so they will understand
     
  15. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Mention you would like assistance in updating the reverse DNS (PTR) record of the IP address that your domain resolves to. Likewise, they may also be able to help check the DNS/name server configuration so you could ask about that as well.
     
  16. Caos

    Caos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    lol they charge for helping but can i do it my self or still ask them?
     
  17. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    If the host allows delegating authority to configure your own PTR records then yes, it should be possible, but whether or not they offer this type of delegation and the details involved could only be answered by the host.
     
  18. Caos

    Caos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok they fixed it!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page