The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

imagemagick

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nico, May 1, 2003.

  1. Nico

    Nico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    After installing imagemagick on the server it does not appear to work correctly. When trying to generate thumbnail it creates core dumps and the error as best as I can determine it is :

    Converting imagesperl: constitute.c:2015: ReadImage: Assertion `image_info->signature == 0xabacadab' failed.

    Is there anyway to correct this?
    TIA
     
  2. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  3. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    how did you install imagemagick?
     
  4. Nico

    Nico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    We installed the RPM's from WHM first and then the Perl Module ImageMagick.
     
  5. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    log into the server as root

    mkdir /home/cpim
    cd /home/cpim
    /scripts/installrpm ImageMagick
    /scripts/installrpm ImageMagick-devel
    wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/magick.tar.gz
    tar zxvf magick.tar.gz
    cd magick
    sh install
     
  6. Nico

    Nico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    That procedure definately changed the error message, but it still is not able to generate a thumbmail for some reason. It results in this error message now:


    Create Object
    Before read image: /home/sculptor/public_html/cgi-script/csGallery/fi/coffeepotview_500pw.jpg
    After read image: /home/sculptor/public_html/cgi-script/csGallery/fi/coffeepotview_500pw.jpg
    Width:
    Height:
    Image: /home/sculptor/public_html/cgi-script/csGallery/fi/coffeepotview_500pw.jpg


    Thanks for the advice though, it is better than before - it's not leaving core dumps now.
     
  7. musashi

    musashi Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did anyone come up with a solution to this? I have encountered this same problem and am having no luck finding an answer.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    shaun, I am curious as to why you would install it in the 'home' dir. as opposed to the 'root' dir.? Is there some benefit or does it not really matter?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    I have installed this on 2 diff boxes, one from inside the WHM the other from shell

    I dont run anything on either box to test this, is there away in shell to see if the installs workd?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. Adiemus

    Adiemus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I did that and got this error message:

    if /bin/sh ../libtool --silent --mode=compile gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I../ -I. -I. -I../magick -I.. -I.. -I../magick -D_REENTRANT -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -I/usr/X11R6/include -I/usr/X11R6/include/X11 -I/usr/include/freetype2 -I/usr/include/libxml2 -g -O2 -Wall -MT dcm.lo -MD -MP -MF ".deps/dcm.Tpo" \
    -c -o dcm.lo `test -f 'dcm.c' || echo './'`dcm.c; \
    then mv ".deps/dcm.Tpo" ".deps/dcm.Plo"; \
    else rm -f ".deps/dcm.Tpo"; exit 1; \
    fi

    I am not linux mastermind so I have no clue what this means.
     
  11. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    Website Rob: It's not installing it in /home it's just building it there. Reason for using /home.... home usually has the most space, building in /root or /tmp alot of times (expecially with buildapache) can max out the space and cause compiling problems. So i just use /home


    Adiemus: try this before you run that
    /scripts/installrpm libxml2
    /scripts/installrpm libxml2-devel
    /scripts/installrpm freetype
    /scripts/installrpm freetype-devel

    Just a guess, what Distro/Version you running?
     
Loading...

Share This Page