The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Imagick 3.1.0RC2 & cPanel 11.36.1.8

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by teflonbee, Jun 10, 2013.

  1. teflonbee

    teflonbee Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi,

    My forum software isn't working correctly with the latest stable version of imagick and quite a few other administrators with the same software remarked that the latest beta version solves the problems. I asked my server company to install 3.1.0RC2 and this was the response I got:

    "The beta version is not supporting the cpanel. It will corrupt the cpanel when the cpanel get updates. Its allowing only the latest stable version."


    Does anyone here know if there is a way to upgrade to this version without causing a problem like he describes. I'm running PHP Version 5.3.25 if that helps.


    Thanks!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Your hosting company is likely unwilling to manually install a different version of Imagemagick. I'm not aware of any way to circumvent their installation without root access to the server. There is a "FAQ" entry on Imagemagick installations on cPanel at:

    cPanel - Imagemagick

    Thank you.
     
  3. teflonbee

    teflonbee Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi Michael,

    I have root access (I need to redo my profile) so if I have to, I could try to manually install it myself. I just wanted to double check that installing a beta wouldn't corrupt cPanel. If it doesn't and there was some type of documentation to support that, then I could try to encourage my hosting company to do it. Also, I wasn't sure if there was some type of configuration that needs to be set to allow beta installs.

    Thanks for your reply.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can manually install Imagemagick from source using the version you prefer. This will not cause any problems with cPanel, and will only effect the scripts on your server that utilize the Imagemagick software.

    The version of Imagemagick that cPanel uses for it's internal PHP is installed separately as an RPM with the "cpanel" prefix:

    Thank you.
     
  5. teflonbee

    teflonbee Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I just got clarification from my host on their reasoning for not wanting to install a beta version.

    "Corruption isn't the issue...cPanel runs unannounced upgrades that typically revert non standard installed software to their current default version. "

    Is there a way to prevent cPanel from reverting the software in this particular case?

    Thanks again.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel will not overwrite a manual Imagemagick installation that was installed from source.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page