Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

IMAP folder stracture query

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by The Rock, Dec 5, 2013.

  1. The Rock

    The Rock Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    At the moment whenever i create a new email in cpanel and implement it in Outlook 2010, the Drafts, Sent, Junk and Trash folders are child folders of the Inbox.
    Is there any way to set a flat imap folder hierarchy by default whenever a new imap email addresse is created in cpanel?
    Our host is running devcot on cPanel Pro 1.0 (RC1).
     
  2. The Rock

    The Rock Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    So in other words, when i create a new email account i'd like the folder structures to default from this: imap-root-before.png to this: imap-root-after.png
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    There is a thread on this at:

    Dovecot Prefix - Inbox Level

    It's essentially due to the nature of how Dovecot handles the prefix in the namespace. You may want to consult with your web hosting provider to see if they are open to making custom changes to accommodate your preference.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. The Rock

    The Rock Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks for the reply and info Michael!

    How would one go about making said custom changes? Is it a lengthy alteration?
    You'll have to excuse my lack of knowledge on the matter as i'm somewhat of a Dovecot novice.


    Thanks in advance
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You will not be able to make this modification if you do not have root access to the system. This is something your hosting provider would have to change globally for the server in the namespace section of the Dovecot configuration file. It's not something that we could provide support for.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice